Make a nomination for 2020 Green Cross for Safety awards

Submitted by National Safety Council
Posted9/12/2019 9:28 AM

The National Safety Council in Itasca is accepting submissions for its Green Cross for Safety awards, presented to individuals and organizations that have advanced safety at work, in homes and communities, or in transportation.

Winners will have demonstrated continuous improvement, the effectiveness of their actions, the value of their initiative and the impact it has had on others.


"Year after year, we are encouraged to see the outstanding safety work that individuals and companies submit as part of their Green Cross for Safety awards nominations," said Lorraine M. Martin, president and CEO of the National Safety Council.

"Eliminating preventable deaths and injuries takes the combined effort of many, and we look forward to recognizing the leaders in this space with our annual awards."

Green Cross for Safety awards will be presented in the following categories:

• Excellence in Safety -- Recognizing a corporation, organization or coalition and its unrelenting pursuit of exceptional, transferrable safety practices;

• Safety Innovation -- Recognizing an individual, corporation or organization that developed a transformative approach to a long-held safety challenge;

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

• Safety Advocate -- Recognizing an individual, coalition or community partnership that has made a significant impact on safety by advocating for proven or promising practices to raise awareness or change policy to prevent further injuries and deaths.

Potential nominees are: corporations, organizations, coalitions, collaborations, researchers, and individuals.

Submissions for the 2020 Green Cross for Safety awards will be accepted through Nov. 22. Finalists will be selected by March 2020, and winners will be announced in May at the Green Cross for Safety awards celebration in Chicago.

To learn more about the award application process or how you can support the 2020 Green Cross for Safety awards celebration, visit or

The National Safety Council is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to eliminate preventable deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy.

Founded in 1913 and chartered by Congress, it advances this mission by partnering with businesses, government agencies, elected officials and the public in areas where we can make the most impact.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.