Breaking News Bar
updated: 9/27/2012 4:10 PM

Achievement Scholarship semifinalists named

Success - Article sent! close
Submitted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation

More than 1,600 black American high school seniors have been designated semifinalists in the annual National Achievement Scholarship Program by the National Merit Scholarship Corp.

These scholastically talented young men and women now will continue in the competition for approximately 800 Achievement Scholarship awards worth more than $2.5 million.

The National Achievement Scholarship Program is a privately financed academic competition that operates without government assistance.

National Achievement Scholarships are supported by corporations, professional organizations, foundations, and by NMSC's funds.

Here are the suburban semifinalists:

• Jenexia M. Bennett, Harry D. Jacobs High School, Algonquin.

• Ayun J. Brown, Seneca D. Hutson, Adekore Taiwo and Matthew P. Williams of Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy, Aurora.

• Brian M. Franklin and Kayla B. Mann of Waubonsie Valley High School, Aurora.

• Alexis K. Banks and Jordan N. Fleming of Timothy Christian, Elmhurst.

• Destiny J. Harrell of Grant Community High School, Fox Lake.

• Emily R. Schooley, Geneva Community High School.

• Kieran D. Howard and Micaela Osuji, Warren Township High School, Gurnee.

• Abdeljami M. Tefridj, Hinsdale Central High School, Hinsdale.• Mariah T. Ghant, James B. Conant High School, Hoffman Estates.

• Frederick D. Williams, Hoffman Estates High School.

• Renwick J. Atkins, Stephen Johnson and Alexandria A. Karim of Adlai E. Stevenson High School, Lincolnshire.

• Samari L. Gilbert, Loyola Academy, Wilmette.