Your Fox Valley voting scorecard

Updated 11/1/2010 6:07 PM

It's not just the governor, U.S. Senate and Congressional seats at stake Tuesday. Voters in the Fox Valley will have state senators and representatives, county board members, sheriffs, other county leaders and judges to elect and, in some cases, referendums to consider.

Here's a quick rundown.


State legislators

• 22nd Senate: Incumbent Democrat Michael Noland is trying to stave off a challenge from longtime state senator Steve Rauschenberger, who gave up his seat when he made an unsuccessful run for the GOP nomination for lieutenant governor. Both candidates are from Elgin.

• 25th Senate: Longtime incumbent Republican Chris Lauzen of Aurora is hoping to stave off a challenge from Leslie Juby, a school board member from Geneva. It's been a very low-key contest. The district covers much of Kane County between Batavia and Carpentersville.

• 28th Senate: The race pits incumbent Republican John Millner of Carol Stream against Corrine Pierog, a St. Charles Unit District 303 school board member from St. Charles. The district includes a portion of South Elgin and points south and east.

43rd House: Republican Ruth Munson wants her seat back in Springfield. She lost two years ago in a very tight race to political newcomer Keith Farnham, a Democrat. The two Elgin candidates have fought one of the bloodiest state rep. campaigns in the suburbs this time around.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

49th House: Republican Tim Schmitz, a Batavia fireman who has served in the House for 11 years, faces a challenge from Democrat Jennifer Barconi, an Air Force veteran and South Elgin business owner making her first run at the office. Both cite the need to build a stronger job base in Illinois but differ on how to get there.

63rd House: Jack Franks, a veteran Democratic lawmaker in historically Republican McHenry County, faces a challenge from Republican John O'Neill, who serves on his local library and school board in McHenry. Franks, of Marengo, has touted his independence from the Democratic Party, pointing to audits he spearheaded to investigate alleged wrongdoing in the administration of former Democratic Gov. Rod Blagojevich. O'Neill has presented himself as the true conservative in the race.

• 64th House: Mike Tryon, a three-term lawmaker and chairman of the McHenry County Republican Party, faces a challenge from his opponent in 2008, Democrat Robert Kaempfe, a retired postal worker and veteran. Both have proposed budget-trimming measures likely to ruffle a few feathers.

County boards

• Kane County: In District 19, Elgin Republican Catherine Hurlbut faces a two-way challenge from Elgin Democrat Jim Shales and independent Victor LaPorte.


In District 21, Democrat Joseph Haimann faces Republican Tim Haley in a race without an incumbent. Incumbent Republican John Fahey pulled out of the race.

In District 23, Republican Maggie Auger squares off with Democrat Linda Nuneman. The winner replaces John Mayer, who did not seek re-election.

• McHenry County: In District 2, Republican Donna Kurtz, Democrat Mark Booras and Republican incumbent and board chairman Ken Koehler square off for two seats.

In District 3, Republican incumbent Barbara Wheeler and Republican Nick Provenzano, who was voted off the board in the previous election, and political novice Lori McConville, a Democrat, compete for two seats.

In District 4, newcomer Democrat Jeff Thirtyacre faces incumbent Republicans Sandra Salgado and Peter Merkel for two seats.

In District 5, the four-way race for two seats includes incumbent Republican Tina Hill and incumbent Democrat James as well as former Republican board member John Jung Jr. and Green Party candidate Frank Wedig.

In District 6, incumbent Republican Mary McCann, newcomer Republican Diane Evertsen and newcomer Dennis Palys battle it out for two seats.

County leaders

• Kane County: The sheriff's race pits two-term incumbent Democrat Pat Perez against 30-year department veteran Donald Kramer, a Republican.

Republican Treasurer David Rickert faces a challenge from Democrat Joseph Lowery

Incumbent Republican County Clerk Jack Cunningham faces Democrat Mavis Bates and Green party candidate Jose del Bosque.

• McHenry County: Long-term Republican Sheriff Keith Nygren faces a challenge from Democrat Mike Mahon and Green candidate Gus Philpott.

In the county clerk's race, 20-year incumbent Republican Katherine Schultz faces Democratic challenger Mark Freund.

• Cook County: Regardless of who wins, someone with a surname that isn't Stroger will preside over the Cook County Board for the first time since 1994. Democratic Chicago Alderman Toni Preckwinkle faces Republican Roger Keats and Green Party candidate Thomas Tresser.

Arguably the most important, and certainly most negative, Cook County campaign this year features Democratic County Board Commissioner Forest Claypool running as an independent for assessor against Democrat Joseph Berrios, Republican Sharon Strobeck-Eckersall and Green Party hopeful Robert Grota.


• Cary District 26: The school district is asking for $15 million in working cash bonds to pay off existing debt to end costly short-term borrowing, begin the process of righting the district's financial ship and keep control of the district's finances out of the state's hands.

• Grafton Township: The township again is asking for at least $3 million in loans to pay for a new town hall.

• Sleepy Hollow: The village is asking for a 0.25 percentage point increase in the sales tax, bringing it to 7.75 percent from 7.5 percent.

• Bartlett Park District: Voters could authorize an $18 million loan allowing the park district to purchase and renovate the Villa Olivia Country Club and make improvements to the Bartlett Aquatic Center.


• 16th Circuit: Former Kane County State's Attorney David Akemann, a Republican, and Elgin attorney John Dalton, a Democrat, compete for a spot on the bench in the 16th Judicial Circuit, which includes Kane, DeKalb and Kendall counties.

• 22nd Circuit: Sally Oeffling Wiggins takes on Gordon Graham for a newly created circuit judge seat in the circuit, which covers McHenry County.