Breaking News Bar
updated: 6/6/2013 6:49 PM

One more starring role for MSL seniors

Success - Article sent! close
Daily Herald report

The seniors come out Monday night to take one final curtain call.

Although the official IHSA softball season will be history, there is another showcase event remaining on the 2013 schedule.

This one is for fun and some division bragging rights.

The 21st annual Mid-Suburban League Senior All-Star Game will take center stage on Monday at 7 p.m. at Barrington High School's Field of Dreams.

Will the MSL West or East be celebrating when the final out is made?

The all-star headliner provides an opportunity for MSL senior softball players to share the dugout with division opponents and enjoy those final moments in the high school sports spotlight. There is no rain date for this event.

The MSL All-Star Game was organized by Barrington coach Perry Peterson in 1993, with the cooperation of the league coaches. The coaches also decided to present a most valuable player award each year.

The MVP award was named in the memory of Nancy Frisk, who died of cancer in 1992. Nancy was the wife of Bob Frisk, an enthusiastic supporter of high school sports who retired in 2008 after 50 years at the Daily Herald.

Prior to the game Monday, a ceremony will held at the pitcher's mound, and Frisk will present the 2012 Nancy Frisk Most Valuable Player Award to Hanna Lythberg of Prospect High School, who did not give up a run while allowing 3 hits over 4 innings to earn a 5-2 victory for the MSL East.

Rosters have been announced by the 12 MSL varsity coaches, who will help direct both divisions Monday night.

MSL West

Barrington: Tess Bolger, Krista Moore, Maggie O'Hara, Morgan Olszewski, Alexa Rebecca, Sam Rosenfeld. Conant: Miranda Cavin, Allison Naujokas, Sarah Thompson. Fremd: Kristine Herdegen, Mandi Matsumoto, Michelle Mazur, Ashlynne Schwantz. Hoffman Estates: Nicole LaBeck. Palatine: Lauren Logan, Megan Hedstrom, Tori Walzak. Schaumburg: Carly Brossard, Dana Giannelli, Hannah Kerr.

MSL East

Buffalo Grove: Erin Barton, Amanda Salzman. Elk Grove: Brianna DeSilvia, Elisa Payne, Rylee Romano. Hersey: Becca Derka, Rachel Fang, Gina Fasolo. Prospect: Michele Molini, Cassie Poulos, Jill Sadowski. Rolling Meadows: Sam Anderson, Sara Brunlieb, Hannah Whidden. Wheeling: Kaitlyn DeBusk, Sara Kern, Jackie Resnick, Taylor Vasey, Emily Walker.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.