Breaking News Bar
posted: 7/9/2014 4:04 PM

College of DuPage Announces Scholars Award Recipients

Success - Article sent! close
  • Han Luu (left) of Glendale Heights and Eugene Boguslavsky of Glen Ellyn are two of 2014's Presidential Scholars. (Photo by Press Photography Network/Special to College of DuPage)

    Han Luu (left) of Glendale Heights and Eugene Boguslavsky of Glen Ellyn are two of 2014's Presidential Scholars. (Photo by Press Photography Network/Special to College of DuPage)

COD News Bureau

College of DuPage has announced 130 incoming students as Scholars Award recipients for fall 2014.

The awards fall into three categories: Presidential, a 64-semester hour full tuition scholarship; Board of Trustees, $2,500 per year; and Dean's, $1,500 per year. Earl Dowling, Vice President of Student Affairs, said more than 360 local area high school students applied for and met the Presidential Scholarship's minimum eligibility criteria, the largest number of high-achieving applicants the College has ever received.

"The competition is fierce and only a select quantity of scholarships is awarded each year," he said. "We consider these students to be our brightest future stars -- students who we feel have the potential to exceed all expectations here at College of DuPage."

Click here for photos from the recent Scholars Award reception and click here to watch a video.

This year's Presidential Scholars are as follows (listed by hometown and then with high school attended):

Addison: Kevin Grygo, Addison Trail; Joseph Malachiwsky, Addison Trail; Jenny Mancilla, Addison Trail; Kacper Mierzejewski, Addison Trail; Jessica Mondragon, Addison Trail; Brandon Schonert, Addison Trail

Aurora: Gabrielle Escudero, Metea Valley; Judah O'Neil, Metea Valley; Gloria Roark, Waubonsie Valley

Bartlett: Gustavo Contreras, Lake Park

Bensenville: Julissa Aquino, Fenton; Taylor Cannon-Bobholz, Fenton; Kevin Malinis, Fenton; Radhika Patel, Fenton

Bloomingdale: Viktor Ampulski, Lake Park; Alexis Haidl, Lake Park; Nicholas Stewart, Lake Park

Bolingbrook: Aya Cabanban, Neuqua Valley; Samuel Liesman, Neuqua Valley; Melissa Paz, Neuqua Valley

Brookfield: Madison Kopjo, Lyons Township; Jeremy Nielson, Lyons Township

Carol Stream: Robert Angiulo, Glenbard North; Jason Chau, Glenbard North; Izabela Kapel, Glenbard North; Stephen Myers, Wheaton Academy; Matthew Powell, Wheaton North; Jennifer Puzio, Homeschooled; Joseph Simkus, Glenbard North

Countryside: Luke Pretzie, Lyons Township

Darien: Juan Leyno Dasco, Lemont; Pavel Dimitrov, Downers Grove South; Nemanja Kuzmanovic, Downers Grove South

Downers Grove: Maggie Curran, Downers Grove North; Andrew Slobidsky, Downers Grove North; Kimberly Tuskey, Downers Grove North

Elmhurst: Ana Juvan, York; Ashley Nevarez, York

Glendale Heights: Han Luu, Glenbard East; Fatima Nawaz, Islamic Foundation; Rodgene Francis Santos, Glenbard East; Justine Solis, Glenbard East

Glen Ellyn: Jonathan Anderson, Glenbard South; Eugene Boguslavsky, Glenbard South; Akvile Kiskis, Glenbard South; Aleksandar Malesevic, Glenbard West; Sumaiya Shariff, Glenbard South

Hanover Park: Sumera Patel, Glenbard North

LaGrange: Alyssa Laatz, Lyons Township; Gianna Ziccarelli, Lyons Township

Lemont: Justin Ankus, Lemont; Andrew Chialdikas, Lemont; Andrew Kramer, Lemont Alyssa Minnicino, Lemont; Matthew Naughton, Willowbrook; David Tuscher, Lemont

Lisle: Thomas Almassey, Montini Catholic; Naresh Ganduri, Naperville North

Lombard: Colton Brucks, Glenbard East; Alex Chapman, Glenbard East; Jennifer Emmert, Glenbard East; Grace Miller, Glenbard East; Erin Posavec, Glenbard South; Erik Schuchardt, Glenbard South; Caileigh Smarzewski-Wilson, Willowbrook; Courtney Smarzewski-Wilson, Willowbrook; Joe Stahl, Homeschooled

Naperville: Payton Baznik, Naperville Central; Marie Beaty, Naperville North; Hubert Celinski, Metea Valley; Dylan Coupe, Naperville North; Jamie-Leigh Danemayer, Naperville North; Samuel Franklin, Neuqua Valley; Joel Khristy, Naperville North; Jessica Piske, Metea Valley; Kotryna Staputyte, Naperville Central; Amy Strom, Neuqua Valley; Betsi Terpin, Naperville Central; Colin Williams, Naperville Central

Roselle: Sean Seal, Lake Park; Samantha Sturino, Lake Park

Villa Park: Muaz Mansour, Willowbrook; Mark Noftz, IC Catholic Prep

Warrenville: Alejandro Campos, Jr., Wheaton Warrenville South; Jake Nelson, Wheaton Warrenville South; Linda Shaw, Wheaton Warrenville South

West Chicago: Grant Hosticka, West Chicago; Melissa Metzger, West Chicago; Alexander Poole, Homeschooled

Western Springs: Nicolas Kruchko, Lyons Township; Matthew Pieroth, Lyons Township; Jamieson Walker, Lyons Township

Westmont: Alayne Cross, Westmont; Shilpa Pokkuluri, Downers Grove South; Sabrina Scott, Westmont; Ashley Welter, Westmont

Wheaton: Diana Rose Aspuria, Wheaton Warrenville South; Alan Bibergall, Wheaton North; Sarah Burkhardt, Wheaton North; Joseph Emmanuel, Wheaton North; Dana Haas, Wheaton Warrenville South; Hannah McCarthy, Wheaton North; Matt Perkowitz, Wheaton Warrenville South; Teal Russeau, Wheaton Warrenville South; James Ruutelmann, Homeschooled; Matthew Szymski, Wheaton Warrenville South; Daniela Vidal, Glenbard South

Winfield: David Albright, Wheaton Academy

Wood Dale: Binderiya Bolor, Fenton; Valentina Guarino, Fenton; Jakub Lewandowski, Fenton

Woodridge: Janelle Oca, Downers Grove South; Kevin Zahrobsky, Downers Grove South

This year's Board of Trustees Scholars are as follows:

Addison: Paola Ortega, Addison Trail

Bloomingdale: Daniela Estarita, Lake Park

Carol Stream: Nick Bank, Glenbard North; Paulina Konopko, West Chicago

Downers Grove: Kristin Harrison, Homeschooled

Glendale Heights: Sara Becerra, Glenbard East; Jaileen Remot, Glenbard East

LaGrange: Aric Laatz, Lyons Township

Naperville: Bianca Donato, Naperville North; Kevin Na, Naperville Central

Warrenville: Anton Prokopenko, Wheaton Warrenville South

West Chicago: Mikaela Kiel, West Chicago; Steven Stantz, West Chicago

Wheaton: Jack DeCraene, Wheaton North; Elisabeth Duncan, Wheaton North

This year's Dean's Scholars are as follows:

Naperville: Lea Nanninga, Naperville Central

Wheaton: Jane Kuch, Wheaton North

All scholars must pursue a degree or certificate at College of DuPage and enroll in a minimum of 15 hours per semester; maintain a 3.5 cumulative GPA; and complete a minimum of 15 Honors credit hours, including an Honors seminar and /or Humanities 2210, Leadership Development. In addition, Presidential Scholars must complete a designated Service Learning course or 20 hours of approved volunteer work during their first year at COD.

For more information about the Scholars Awards or attending College of DuPage, contact the Admissions and Outreach office at (630) 942-2482 or email