Breaking News Bar
updated: 9/24/2013 10:12 PM

Decisive duos get it done for Wauconda

Success - Article sent! close
Daily Herald report

Doubles decided it for Wauconda's girls tennis team.

Wauconda edged Grant 4-3 in North Suburban Prairie Division action Tuesday, receiving doubles wins from Alex O'Day/Danielle Sturm (No. 2), Megan Mraz/Morgan Stancy (No. 3) and Hanna Gomoll/Hailee Gomoll (No. 4).

Wauconda's Janvee Patel won in three sets at third singles.

Grant got wins from freshman Gabby Schoenberg and Katerina Antonishina at Nos. 1 and 2 singles, respectively, and its No. 1 doubles team of Taylor Jackson/Kyrsten Bruce.

Stevenson 7, Lake Zurich 0: The Patriots received 6-0, 6-0 wins from Zoe Manion (No. 1 singles) and Alexxis Kiven/Kendall Kirsch (No. 1 doubles).

Libertyville 5, Vernon Hills 2: The Wildcats swept singles behind the play of Ola Grabowski (No. 1), Callie Klein (No. 2) and Izzie Griffith (No. 3).

Libertyville also earned doubles victories thanks to Hallie Roach/Danielle Blaser (No. 2) and Caitlin Considine/Kristen Kinast (No. 4).

Vernon Hills picked up doubles wins from Rachel Jacoby/Melissa Roshass (No. 1) and Shreya Kathuria/Prathushya Namburi (No. 3).

Carmel 6, Nazareth 2: Doubles dominated for the Corsairs in the East Suburban Catholic match.

Carmel's doubles winners were Michelle Kannenberg/Kathleen Felicelli (No. 1), Megan Sullivan/Sarah Bowles (No. 2), Ruthie Firnbach/Megan Healy (No. 3), Sarah Warkemthein/Barb Ramont (No. 4) and Liz Uko/Sarah Olson (No. 6).

Carmel's Maddy O'Donnell captured No. 2 singles.

Hampshire 5, Grayslake North 2: The Whip-Purs swept all three singles matches in the Fox Valley Fox match.

Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.
    Winner - 2015 Best Website
    Illinois Press Association
    Illinois Press Association