Breaking News Bar
updated: 7/31/2013 2:00 PM

Cary Soccer Announces 2013 SST Scholarship Winners!

Success - Article sent! close
Kristin Enstrom

Cary Soccer Association would like to congratulate all of our 2013 Sheppard Schleisman Tournament (SST) college scholarship recipients!

Every year, Cary Soccer hosts one of the largest

recreational soccer tournaments in Illinois, the SST. The SST Tournament was founded in 1984 in memory of Stuart Sheppard, a U8 soccer player, and Tim Schleisman, a father and coach, who were tragically killed by a drunk driver. The funds raised by this tournament are given to select

local high school seniors who apply for the scholarship.

Winners are chosen based on their involvement with Cary Soccer, their level of involvement in school and/or outside activities and a written essay. The awards are presented by Cary Soccer Association Board members to the winners at their school's

respective awards night.

2013 winners are:

Brandon Barnes - Prairie Ridge HS - attending Seton Hall University

Michael McKune - Cary-Grove HS - attending The Ohio State University

Shannon Corr - Cary-Grove HS - attending University of Alabama

Michelle Kalenda - Cary-Grove HS - attending University of Illinois - Champaign-Urbana

Elizabeth Getka - Cary-Grove HS - attending Bradley University

Madeline Gronset - Cary-Grove HS - attending Carthage College

Kimber Harbeck - Cary-Grove HS - attending McHenry County College

Many congratulations to the 2013 winners!

Please see for more information.