Sculpture Invasion 2022 hits Oakton College campus

Be on the lookout! A Sculpture Invasion has arrived at the Oakton Community College's Koehnline Museum of Art, 1600 E. Golf Road, Des Plaines.

Sculpture Invasion 2022 marks the return of Chicago Sculpture International (CSI) to Oakton for the fourth time for one of the area's largest juried exhibitions.

Sculptures and scale models will be on display in the Koehnline Art Museum, and outdoor sculptures will "invade" the Des Plaines campus through Sept. 30.

The exhibit is free to attend and open to the community.

The Koehnline Museum of Art, along with CSI, previously produced a series of Sculpture Invasion exhibitions in 2007, 2010 and 2015, during which sculptures of CSI artists invaded Oakton's campus, and joined the pieces that are on permanent display, both indoors and outdoors.

Sculpture Invasion 2022 will feature artists from the Chicago area and the Midwest, who were chosen from the CSI membership.

Chicago Sculpture International was founded in 2004 by a team of Chicago-based sculptors. CSI seeks to expand public understanding and appreciation of Chicago sculpture, engage artists and art professionals in a dialogue to advance the art form.

"The exhibition, Sculpture Invasion 2022, illustrates the Koehnline Museum of Art's continuing dedication to the history of Chicago art and the media of sculpture," said Nathan Harpaz, Koehnline Museum manager and curator.

"Thanks to donations and other acquisitions by the Koehnline Museum of Art, Oakton's campuses have become exciting spaces to enjoy viewing sculpture."

Participating artists include: Ange Altenhofen, Nikki Renee Anderson, Janet Austin, Nicole Beck, Sharon Bladholm, Joseph A. Burlini, Mia Capodilupo, Gwen Yen Chiu, Michele Corazzo, Daryls Ewoldt, Christine Forni, Steve Gaeth, Amanda Gentry, Shelley Gilchrist, Barbara Goldsmith, Carol Hammerman, Donna Hapac, Suzanne Horwitz, Indira Johnson, Karl Johnson, Terry Karpowicz, Keith Kaziak, Fred Klingelhofer, Laurie W. LeBreton, Boruch Lev, Margot McMahon, Bobbi Meier, Brian E. Monaghan, Scott Mossman, Katherine Nemanich, Christopher Newman, David Noguchi, Christine Perri, Jan Petry, Jean Jacques Porret, Gina Lee Robbins, Nancy Lu Rosenheim, Dominic Sansone, Samuel Schwindt, Yvette Kaiser Smith, Eric Steele, George Everet Thompson, Michele Thrane, John Upchurch, Patrick D. Wilson, Chris Wubeena, Shencheng Xu, and Plamen Yordanov.

Named for Oakton Community College's founding president, William A. Koehnline, Oakton's museum is a space dedicated to the celebration of art. The Koehnline Museum of Art is committed to establishing and encouraging an environment for art accessible to everyone.

Its programs and exhibits are designed for students, college employees and members of the greater Chicago community. The museum serves a variety of educational purposes and illuminates current directions in regional, national and international art.

For questions, contact Nathan Harpaz at

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.