Des Plaines Park Board Reorganizes for 2023-2024; Jana Haas Sworn In As Park Board President

In the annual reorganization of the Des Plaines Park District Board of Commissioners at the May 16 park board meeting, nominations for officers were offered and unanimously confirmed by commissioners. Jana Haas will serve as president for the 2023-2024 fiscal year; Eli Williams will serve as vice-president, and James Grady was confirmed as treasurer. Haas' appointment follows one year of serving as a park board vice president in 2022 - 2023. Her tenure with the Des Plaines Park District began in 2003, serving the Des Plaines residents for 20 years.

"I am deeply privileged and delighted to be able to continue to contribute to the community in my new capacity," said Haas. "This appointment affords me another exciting opportunity to serve the residents of Des Plaines by providing outstanding parks, exceptional facilities and top-notch recreational programs for all ages. I would like to thank Commissioner Erin Doerr for her leadership during the past year as president of the board of commissioners, and in her continued role as commissioner."

The park board is a legal governing authority through which the business of the district is conducted. Elected by the public for six-year terms, the board consists of five volunteer commissioners, who meet on the third Tuesday of the month in the David L. Markworth Boardroom, at the Administrative and Leisure Center, 2222 Birch St. The public is welcome, and encouraged to attend.

Persons wishing to have items placed on the agenda should notify the board secretary, Donald Miletic, at the administrative office, by letter or by telephone, 847-391-5700, no later than the Wednesday before any regularly scheduled park board meeting. Board agendas and approved minutes of meetings are available for the public to view at the Leisure Center and Prairie Lakes Community Center. Board documents are also online at

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.