DuPage Medical Society Foundation names scholarship grant winners

The DuPage Medical Society Foundation board of trustees recently announced the awarding of 14 student scholarships for 2023.

• Mira Malavia of Aurora is the 2023 recipient of the prestigious James P. Campbell, MD, Memorial Scholarship.

Malavia is a third-year student at University of Missouri-Kansas City medical school. Along with impressive research credentials, she is active in her community as a social and medical volunteer. These are the qualities that made her the obvious choice for this award.

She wrote: "Regardless of what specialty I ultimately chose, I hope to someday join a new generation of doctors, armed with 21st-century technology, cognizant of the social responsibilities entailed by the altruistic desire to serve our fellow humans."

The memorial scholarship was established in 1998 to honor the memory of a distinguished DuPage County physician who for 60 years was also a great advocate for organized medicine. He served the DuPage County Medical Society and other branches of organized medicine in many ways, but most significantly as the society's secretary-treasurer for 29 years. Recipients must exhibit an outstanding academic background and extraordinary potential for a future in medicine.

• Kavya Anjur of Darien is awarded the 2023 William B. Frymark Sr., MD, Honorary Scholarship. Anjur is a first-year medical student at the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Chicago School of Medicine. She is an outstanding scholar, and passionate about service to others and social justice. She founded and directed the local chapter of Just For Kidz, an organization that aims to help underprivileged children.

Anjur wrote, "As a future physician, I will work hard to improve patient treatment experiences by considering social, economic, and emotional factors of health. I will empower patients by understanding and appreciating their backgrounds. I hope to provide holistic, compassionate, and personalized care by addressing barriers to quality health care and promoting cultural awareness."

The honorary scholarship is a tribute to one of the foundation's founders who, in the ensuing half century, remained a dedicated supporter and steward of the organization. Doctor Frymark served many terms as a trustee and president of the Foundation's Board. He also held many leadership positions with the DuPage County Medical Society. Recipients demonstrate superior academic ability, a commitment to service, and great potential as a health care service provider.

Other 2023 scholarship recipients are: Nicole Budzynski, Downers Grove, physical therapy; David Chen, Naperville, medicine; Thomas Diehl, Downers Grove, medicine; Era Elmazi, Glendale Heights, radiation therapy; Hala Fahim, Darien, physician assistant; Katy Flannery, Naperville, medicine; Yanal Kawaleet, Lombard, medicine; Madison Navarro, Elmhurst, physical therapy; Olivia Negris, Wheaton, medicine; Hannah Raj, Bartlett, medicine; Mahmood Shah, Darien, medicine; and Ethan Wang, Westmont, medicine.

"Once again, we had an outstanding group of student applicants," said foundation president Lanny F. Wilson, M.D. "Out of respect and appreciation for our generous donors, the foundation takes seriously the evaluation of each candidate based upon needs and merits. In so doing, we hope to steward our philanthropic resources wisely as we support future health professionals and the future of health care in America.''

Each year the DuPage Medical Society Foundation awards 100% of the funds received from contributors. Including this year's grants, the foundation has awarded more than $475,500 in student scholarships.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.