Contested council races in store for several DuPage communities

Updated 12/19/2018 3:34 PM

With candidate filings completed for the April 2 election, city councils and village boards across DuPage County are looking at the possibility of new faces come spring.

Here is a look at some of the contested council and board races in store for voters in DuPage communities:



Elmhurst has two aldermen representing each of seven wards and the terms of one alderman from each of those wards expire this spring.

In five of those wards the incumbent -- Bob Dunn in Ward 2, Dannee Polomsky in Ward 3, Scott Levin in Ward 5, Michael Honquest in Ward 6 and Mark Mulliner in Ward 7 -- will run unopposed in the April election.

But in Ward 1, incumbent Mark Sabatino faces a challenge from Elizabeth Abrogi and in Ward 4, incumbent Noel Talluto will face challenger Mark Anglewicz.


Trustees have expiring terms in three of the six districts in Lombard, meaning the District 2, 4 and 5 seats -- held by Mike Fugiel, Bill Johnston and Robyn Pike, respectively -- are up for election. In District 2, Fugiel did not file to seek re-election, so newcomer Anthony Puccio will appear on the ballot unopposed. In District 4, Johnston is facing a challenge from Andrew Honig. And in District 5, a three-candidate race will feature Pike, Tina Tyson-Dunne and Daniel Militello.


All three Roselle trustees whose terms are expiring want to keep their seats. But incumbents Bruce Berkshire, Wayne Domke and Lee Trejo first have to face a challenge from newcomer Michelle Johnson. Three of the four will win seats on the board.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

Carol Stream

Five people have emerged to run for three available seats on the village board. Incumbents Mary Frusolone and Greg Schwarze are seeking another 4-year term. The other candidates are Andrew John Nudo, John Zalak and Stephanie Biegel. Incumbent David Hennessey did not file to seek re-election.

Oak Brook

As many as six candidates will vie for three available seats on the Oak Brook village board. Incumbents Asif Yusuf and Edward Tiesenga are running again. The other candidates are Leo Danielides, Marilyn Krafthefer and Gerald Wolin, a former village trustee. It's not yet clear if Trustee Michael Manzo will run for reelection because he filed nominating petitions for both village board and village president. He has until Dec. 26 to withdraw one of the petitions.

Wood Dale

Wood Dale will have contested aldermanic races in all four of the city's wards. In Ward 1, incumbent Gandolfo "Randy" Messina will face challenger Tereasa A. Szatko. In Ward 2, Anthony J. Trotto will try to unseat incumbent Arthur Woods Jr. In Ward 3, incumbent Sonny Sorrentino will face a challenge from Stefan Stevic. And in Ward 4, challenger Andrea Emmert will face incumbent Michael F. Susmarski.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.