Breaking News Bar
posted: 7/2/2014 4:00 PM

Schaumburg Youth Orchestra awards scholarships

Success - Article sent! close
Submitted by Rob Pileckis, Schaumburg Department of Cultural Services

The Schaumburg Youth Orchestra awarded scholarships valuing over $3,500 to 15 students for their outstanding contributions during the program's 2013-14 season. Recipients are selected from the program's four performing ensembles.

Scholarship recipients are:

Order Reprint Print Article
Interested in reusing this article?
Custom reprints are a powerful and strategic way to share your article with customers, employees and prospects.
The YGS Group provides digital and printed reprint services for Daily Herald. Complete the form to the right and a reprint consultant will contact you to discuss how you can reuse this article.
Need more information about reprints? Visit our Reprints Section for more details.

Contact information ( * required )

Success - request sent close

Paul Alvarez, Schaumburg: $150, violin, Schaumburg High School

Stephanie Bae, Hoffman Estates: $150, violin, Sundling Junior High

Nathaniel Carlson, Palatine: $150, trombone; Palatine High School

Kevin Chang, Elk Grove Village: $150, violin, Conant High School

Samantha Cifrino, Schaumburg: $150, violin, Addams Junior High

Melinda Coleman, Palatine: $150, clarinet, Fremd High School

Lucia DePaz, West Chicago: $150, violin; Wegner Elementary

Joshua Eberhardt, Schaumburg: $150, violin, Mead Junior High

Marisa Gnadt, Schaumburg: $250, viola; Conant High School

Andrea Jing, Palatine: $300, violin, Pleasant Hill Elementary

Emma Liu, Barrington: $150, cello, Fremd High School

Shelly Liu, Algonquin: $250, violin, Jacobs High School

Yuma Okada, Schaumburg; $150, violin, Dooley Elementary

Emma Simon, Mount Prospect: $200, bassoon, Prospect High School

Troy VonGillern, Hoffman Estates: Full tuition scholarship, trombone, Hoffman Estates High School

In addition to the village-sponsored scholarships, three graduating high school seniors each received a special scholarship worth $500: Michael Christopher of Schaumburg, a French horn player from Schaumburg High School, received the Kelliher-Lawless Scholarship, sponsored by Schaumburg Village Trustee George Dunham; violinist Samantha Murata, a Schaumburg resident and Conant graduate, received the Ruth Park Senior Music Scholarship, sponsored by the Prairie Center Arts Foundation; and Arissa Sato, a Conant graduate from Schaumburg, received the Leo Chan Alumni Award, sponsored by former youth orchestra member Leo Chan.

Recipients received their scholarships at a Schaumburg village board meeting held May 13.

The Schaumburg Youth Orchestra is a program of the Village of Schaumburg.

• Submit 'Your News' at

Share this page