Breaking News Bar
updated: 10/16/2013 12:05 PM

St. Emily Runners Charge Thru Fall

Success - Article sent! close
  • St. Emily Cross Country Team Celebrates Northwest Catholic Conference Championship

    St. Emily Cross Country Team Celebrates Northwest Catholic Conference Championship
    Bonnie Eiffes

Lori Magnoni

The St. Emily School Cross Country team from Mt. Prospect has had a very successful season this fall. At the Northwest Catholic Conference Finals held at Busse Woods on September 30th, the team placed first. This was a combination of JV Girls placing 1st, JV Boys placing 1st, Varsity Girls placing 5th and Varsity Boys placing 2nd. It is the combined scores from all four races that crowns the overall conference champion. The Northwest Catholic conference is made up of 14 area Catholic Schools. Awards are given to the top 20 finishers in each race. Girls JV, Aubrey Hasley (1st), Annie Gaughan (5th), Gabriella Piagari (7th) and Joy Bergstrom (8th). Boys JV, Patric Natindim (1st), Tommy Cortese (6th), Scott Rogowski (11th) and Nick Cortese (15th). Varsity Girls, Loretta Dugo (8th) and Sarah Magnoni (18th). Varsity Boys, Richard Rinka (7th), Paul Bergstrom (8th) and Alberto Kovacevic (17th).

Two weeks later on October 12th the Class 1A Sectionals were held at Melas Park in Mt. Prospect. Top three teams and top individual finishers then qualify for the State Cross Country Meet in Bloomington. The St. Emily girls team qualified with a second place finish and the boys team qualified with a first place finish. Sectional girls team members are Loretta Dugo, Sarah Magnoni, Aubrey Hasley, Annie Gaughan, Gabriella Piagari, Mary Paczko, and Lindsey Kalble, with alternates, Clare Rogowski, Kara Dempsey and Julia Nowak. The boys team is comprised of Paul Bergstrom, Richard Rinka, Alberto Kovacevic, Patric Natindim, Kevin Igoe, Scott Rogowski, and Kenny Yi with alternates, Stephen Choivari, Nate Tehrani, and Christian Cruz.

There are 31 runners on the team ranging from 4th grade to 8th. The team is coached by Judy Paczko, Lucy Bergstrom and Lori Magnoni.

We wish them the best at state.