Breaking News Bar
updated: 5/6/2013 12:09 PM

District 54 names nine new assistant principals

Success - Article sent! close

The Schaumburg Township Elementary District 54 school board Thursday took a major step toward completing preparations for next school year by filling nine vacancies among its assistant principal ranks.

Ken Haase, currently a teacher at Hunter Ridge Elementary School in Palatine, will replace Heather Wilson at Link and Nerge elementary schools. Wilson will be principal of Keller Junior High.

Order Reprint Print Article
Interested in reusing this article?
Custom reprints are a powerful and strategic way to share your article with customers, employees and prospects.
The YGS Group provides digital and printed reprint services for Daily Herald. Complete the form to the right and a reprint consultant will contact you to discuss how you can reuse this article.
Need more information about reprints? Visit our Reprints Section for more details.

Contact information ( * required )

Success - request sent close

Andrew Gibbs, now principal of Blackberry Creek Elementary School in Elburn, will be assistant principal of Churchill and Lincoln Prairie schools.

Kelly Dvoracek, an instructional coach for District 54 since 2010, will be assistant principal of Armstrong Elementary School. She previously taught in Cary School District 26.

Ivette Rivera-Weigle, an instructional support teacher for English Language Learners in District 54, will become assistant principal of Campanelli and Dooley schools. She previously was a bilingual resource teacher at the district's Muir Literacy Academy and Frost Junior High.

Becky Rodriguez, now a special services teacher at Armstrong Elementary, will become assistant principal of Collins and Dirksen schools. She earlier taught at the district's Fairview, Hanover Highlands and Stevenson elementary schools.

Michelle Thompson, an instructional coach and former teacher at Fairview Elementary School, will succeed Diana Lipman at Enders- Salk and MacArthur elementary schools. Lipman will be principal of Armstrong School.

Blanca Leal, a dual language kindergarten teacher and literacy coach at MacArthur International Spanish Academy in Hoffman Estates, will be assistant principal at Fox and Hanover Highlands elementary schools.

Lily Smith, a current teacher at Lincoln Prairie School, will be assistant principal of Mead Junior High. She replaces Jillian Sagan, who is being promoted to principal of Mead.

Tom Barbini, now a math teacher and department chair at Mead, will replace Brian Kaszewicz as assistant principal of Frost Junior High. Kaszewicz will be assistant principal at Aldrin Elementary School.

All the district's appointments for the 2013-14 school year will take effect July 1.

Share this page
Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.