Breaking News Bar
updated: 2/8/2013 2:13 PM

District 54 appoints three new school principals

Success - Article sent! close
  • Joann Kort

    Joann Kort

  • Jillian Sagan

    Jillian Sagan

  • Chris Bingen

    Chris Bingen


Schaumburg Township Elementary District 54 board members this week appointed three new principals for the 2013-14 school year.

Joann Kort, the current assistant principal at Hoover and Blackwell elementary schools in Schaumburg, will become principal of Dirksen Elementary School in Schaumburg. She is replacing Pat Piech, who will retire this summer.

Jillian Sagan, the current assistant principal of Mead Junior High School in Elk Grove Village, will replace Pete Hannigan as principal. Hannigan was previously named assistant superintendent of human resources for 2013-14.

Sagan has been assistant principal since July 2011 and previously was a special services teacher at Lincoln Prairie Elementary School in Hoffman Estates.

Chris Bingen, a former assistant principal at Frost Junior High School in Schaumburg and teacher at Mead Junior High, will return to District 54 as principal of Addams Junior High in Schaumburg. He has been the principal of Palos South Middle School in District 118 since 2007.

Bingen is replacing Steve Pearce, already named to be principal of Armstrong Elementary School in Hoffman Estates. The current principal of Armstrong, Beth Erbach, will become District 54's assistant superintendent for student learning this summer.

This week's promotions has created two openings for assistant principal which the district also intends to fill before the end of the current school year.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.