Breaking News Bar
updated: 1/4/2013 7:38 PM

Objections filed against Schaumburg Township Democrats

Entire slate challenged in Schaumburg Twp.

Success - Article sent! close

A pair of objections were filed Thursday and Friday against the candidacies of all five Democrats seeking elected office in Schaumburg Township this spring.

While one objection made the more common complaint that the candidates' statements of economic interest weren't properly filled out, the other charged that the candidates were slated by a new Democratic committeeman who hadn't been selected by proper procedure.

A Schaumburg Township electoral board hearing has been scheduled for 7 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 10, at the township hall on the two objections against trustee candidates Moe Patel, Mike Murray, Carolyn A. Quinn and Zuhair Nubani and highway commissioner candidate Michael Lenehan.

The objection based on new Schaumburg Township Democratic Committeeman Mike Cudzik's qualifications was filed Thursday by Chandrakant H. Pandya of Roselle. The other, finding fault with the Democrats' statements of economic interest, was filed Friday by Anil H. Barot of Schaumburg.

Cudzik succeeded Rocco Terranova as the township's Democratic committeeman in the fall. Pandya's objection argues that Terranova was not allowed to appoint his own successor and that the Cook County Democratic Party and its Central Committee should have had to approve Cudzik.

Cudzik said he saw no validity in the objection against him and Terranova spoke with confidence that proper procedure had been followed.

"We did everything correctly," Terranova said. "I have no idea what they're talking about. It's the way it's done. If we have to go to a hearing to show them the proof, we'll show them the proof."

The Schaumburg Township electoral board would normally be made up of the township supervisor, clerk and senior trustee.

Because the objections involve the race for trustee, however, a member of the public appointed by a Cook County circuit court judge will fill the third spot on the electoral board, Schaumburg Township Administrator Larry Weniger said.

Township Supervisor Mary Wroblewski and Clerk Timothy Heneghan aren't facing challenges in their re-election bids, but they are members of the Republican slate.

Other members of the slate include trustees Robert Vinnedge, Jeffrey Mytych and Diane Dunham running for re-election; newcomer Nimish Jani also running for trustee; current Trustee Scott Kegarise running for highway commissioner; and Assessor John Lawson seeking another term.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.