Get in tune with Oakton music classes

  • Courtesy of Oakton Community College

    Courtesy of Oakton Community College

 
Oakton Community College
Updated 1/17/2020 7:41 AM

Music education offers many benefits to students, including developing language and reasoning skills, mastering memorization, teaching discipline, increasing coordination and building self-confidence. Starting Jan. 21, students of all skill levels can take courses in music at Oakton Community College, 1600 E. Golf Road, Des Plaines.

Classes are offered in the following areas:

                                                                                                                                                                                                                       
 

• Brass. Contact Mark Olen, music instructor, at markolen@oakton.edu.

• Cello and Music Theory. Contact Alexa Muhly, music instructor, at (847) 376-7162 or amuhly@oakton.edu.

• Choir and Voice. Contact Sara Torbeck, music instructor, at (847) 635-1907 or storbeck@oakton.edu.

• Guitar, Guitar Ensemble and Jazz Guitar. Contact Tom Clippert, music instructor, at (847) 376-7004 or clippert@oakton.edu.

• Jazz Band. Contact Mark Olen, music instructor, at markolen@oakton.edu.

• Percussion. Contact Bret Sher, music instructor, at (847) 635-1905 or bsher@oakton.edu.

• Piano and Six Piano Ensemble. Contact Glenna Sprague, coordinator and professor of music, at (847) 635-1905 or gsprague@oakton.edu.

• Violin, Viola and String Ensemble. Contact Daniel Golden, music instructor at (847) 376-7108 or dgolden@oakton.edu.

• Woodwinds. Contact Tim McNamara, music instructor, at tmcnamara@oakton.edu.

Spring semester class listings may be found online: www.oakton.edu/academics/all_credit_courses/spring.php?area=Music#listings.

0 Comments
                                                                                                                                                                                                                       
 
Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.