Incumbents, former elected officials prevail in Cook County village board races

The following are unofficial results from the April 4 northwest suburban contested municipal races.


Barrington attaining home rule status was foremost in the minds of all four village board candidates. Now three may be able to act on it. As of 8:50 p.m. Tuesday, incumbents Kate Duncan and Jason Lohmeyer were leading the pack of four candidates vying for three 4-year seats. Duncan garnered 775 votes closely followed by Lohmeyer with 756 votes, unofficial results show. Each collected more than 28% of votes cast. Brian Prigge received 639 votes, or 24%, while Margot Dallstream trailed with 523 votes, or 19%.


Incumbents Ray Deyne, Adam J. Hopkins and Renee Suwanski appear to have reelection to 4-year terms on the Bartlett village board, unofficial results show. From Cook and DuPage counties Suwanski received a total of 2,602 votes, Hopkins received 2,564 votes and Deyne received 2,279 votes. Khurram Syed received 1,128 votes. Suwanski, Hopkins and Deyne received one vote each from Kane County.

Deer Park

Deer Park voters were faced with a tough choice: four experienced candidates vying for three village board seats. As of 9:55 p.m. Tuesday, incumbents James Oakley, David Lemme were in the lead. Oakley led with 330 votes, 29% of the total, followed by Lemme with 313 votes. Former trustee Michael Mann received with 254 votes. Incumbent Jimi Psarakis trailed with 237 votes, unofficial totals show.

Des Plaines

With all Des Plaines precincts reporting, 2nd Ward city council incumbent Martin J. "Colt" Moylan led challenger Earl Wilson with 379 votes or 54% to Wilson's 317 votes or 46%. In the 4th Ward, unofficial results show former alderman Dick Sayad defeating incumbent Artur Zadrozny. Sayad received 511 votes or 58% to Zadrozny's 370 votes or 42%.

In the 6th Ward, former alderman Mark Walsten prevailed over Brian Inzerello 319-173. Walsten received 65% of the vote to Inzerello's 35%. With four of four precincts reporting in the 8th Ward, former alderman Michael Charewicz defeated incumbent Shamoon Ebrahimi. Charewicz received 379 votes or 65% to Ebrahimi's 205 votes or 35%.

Elk Grove Village

The Elk Grove Village trustee slate backed by Mayor Craig Johnson won their races Tuesday night, according to unofficial results.

With of 21 of 21 precincts reporting, Kathy Jarosch, co-owner of Jarosch Bakery received 3,169 votes or 32% to win a 4-year term. Tammy Miller, who Johnson appointed to fill a vacancy on the board in 2021 received 2,937 votes or 29%. Incumbent Stephen Schmidt received 2,684 votes or 27%. Monika Stajniak received 1,192 votes or 12%.

Hanover Park

The Hanover Park United slate of candidates for the Hanover Park Village board prevailed Tuesday, winning three trustee seats, according to unofficial results as of 10 p.m. Tuesday. The winning slate consisted of incumbents Liza Gutierrez and Herb Porter joined by former trustee Jon Kunkel. Hanover Park includes Cook and DuPage counties. Gutierrez received 1,125 votes, Porter received 1,067 votes and Kunkel received 931 votes.

Newcomers Belinda Mustafa, Grace Khan and Manish Shah comprised the Hanover Park Rising Together slate which was established to bring more multicultural representation to the village board, according to Shah. Khan received 545 votes, Mustafa received 402 votes and Shah received 384 votes.

Mount Prospect

In the race for Mount Prospect trustee, where crime was a major issue, former trustee William Grossi led all candidates with 2,808 votes or 28%, unofficial results show. With all precincts reporting, incumbent trustee Colleen Saccotelli, who supports plans to increase police staffing, received 2,630 votes or 27%. Elk Grove Township Trustee Vince Dante received 2,339 or 24% of the vote. Former trustee Eleni Hatzis received 2,088 or 21% of the vote.

North Barrington

Challengers Mark Vandenbergh and Neil Morrow appeared poised to join incumbent Vanessa Kerrigan on the North Barrington village board.

Unofficial totals as of 9:26 p.m. Tuesday show, Kerrigan, appointed to the board in 2022, leading four trustee candidates for three open seats. Kerrigan had 462 votes, 29% of the ballots cast, followed closely by Vandenbergh with 456 votes. Morrow led Patty Kalinowski capturing 376 votes to Kalinowski's 291 votes.

Prospect Heights

Prospect Heights' 1st Ward race between incumbent Michelle Cameron and former alderman Richard Hamen was the only contest on the city council ballot. Unofficial results show Cameron with 46 votes or 54% defeating Hamen, who received 39 votes or 46%.

Rolling Meadows

In the lone contested Rolling Meadows City Council contest, challenger Stefanie Boucher defeated incumbent Jon Bisesi for a 4-year term as the 5th Ward alderman, unofficial results show. With two of two precincts reporting, Boucher, a project manager at Motorola Solutions and former PTA president, had 69 votes or 54% to Bisesi's 59 votes or 46%.


In the race for three seats on the Streamwood village board, incumbents Mary Thon and James Cecille and former trustee Larry Rybicki prevailed, unofficial results show. Thon received 1,493 votes or 28%. Cecille received 1,257 votes or 24%. Rybicki received 1,048 votes or 20%. Nazneen Hashmi received 1,008 votes or 19% and Harshadkumar Shah received 521 votes or 10%.

Russell Lissau, David Oberhelman, Eric Peterson, Christopher Placek and Steve Zalusky contributed to this report.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.