Who filed to run for village board and city council in Fox Valley towns

  • South Elgin, whose village hall is pictured in this photo, is among Fox Valley towns with contested races for trustee seats in the April 2 election.

      South Elgin, whose village hall is pictured in this photo, is among Fox Valley towns with contested races for trustee seats in the April 2 election. Rick West | Staff Photographer

Updated 12/20/2018 12:23 PM

Here's a look at contested races for village board and city council seats in the April 2 election in Fox Valley towns whose filing period ended Monday.

St. Charles: One seat in each of the city's five wards is up for election, but only one race will be contested. Ryan Bongard is challenging incumbent Rita Payleitner to represent Ward 2 on the city council. Aldermen Daniel Stellato of Ward 1, Todd Bancroft of Ward 3 and Ed Bessner of Ward 5 filed for re-election. Resident David Pietryla is the only candidate running in Ward 4; incumbent Steven Gaugel did not file.


Carpentersville: Three 4-year terms and one 2-year term are up for election on the village board. Trustees Jeffrey Frost and Maria Vela, both of whom were appointed to vacated seats, are seeking re-election. They are being challenged by Jim Malone and Humberto Garcia.

Incumbent John O'Sullivan, who also was appointed to the board last year, is the only candidate running for the 2-year term seat.

Algonquin: Six candidates are vying for three spots on the village board. Residents Cynthia Kanner, Paulette Zolicoffer and Bob Smith, a former longtime trustee, are challenging three incumbents: John Spella, Jim Stiegert and Debby Sosine.

Gilberts: Three trustee seats are on the ballot, and five candidates filed nominating papers. They are Trustees Louis Hacker, Elissa Kojzarek and Dan Corbett and residents Dan Pace and Tom Wajda, the latter a former trustee.

South Elgin: Five candidates are vying for three trustee seats. Trustees Scott Richmond, Lisa Guess and Mike Kolodziej filed for re-election, and former Trustee Bill DiFulvio and resident Shane Hamilton also filed nominating papers.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

East Dundee: Three incumbents and one newcomer are vying for three open trustee seats. Trustees Jeff Lynam, Alan Hall and Kathleen Mahony, who was appointed to the board last year, filed for re-election. They will be running against resident Scott Kunze.

West Dundee: Four candidates are seeking three seats on the village board. Julie Fox is challenging incumbents Thomas Price, Michelle Kembitzky and Andrew Yuscka.

Lake in the Hills: Six candidates are vying for three 4-year seats on the board. Incumbents Suzette Bojarski and Raymond Bogdanowski are joined on the ballot by Diane Murphy, Michael Schneider, Alan Wilson and Jeffrey Jakubik. Trustee Suzanne Artinghelli is not running for re-election.

Sugar Grove: Four people are running for three seats. They are incumbents David Paluch, Mari Melson Johnson and Heidi Lendi and resident Alex Kline-Weder.


Elburn: Incumbents William Grabarek and Susan Filek and newcomers Nicolas Jiminez and Chris Mondi are running for trustee. Jiminez ran for county clerk in November. Mondi ran for village president in 2017 and lost.

Geneva: The hottest race might be in Ward 5, pitting incumbent Craig Maladra against former Alderman Tom Simonian. Simonian spent a lot of money running for mayor in 2017 in a bitter contest against Kevin Burns. The other contested races are Ward 2, featuring incumbent Michael Clements vs. Tad Hemmings, and Ward 4, with Paula Merrington against Gabriel Kaven.

Batavia: Officials refused to release the list of people who filed, saying they will not do so until the names are submitted to the county clerk. That won't happen until after Monday, the deadline for people to submit challenges to petitions.

Huntley: Incumbents Harry Leopold, Niko Kanakaris and Tim Hoeft filed for re-election to three 4-year terms.

Fox River Grove: Incumbents Jennifer Curtiss and Patrick Wall, and newcomers Tom Anderson and Eric Anderson are vying for three 4-year trustee seats. Incumbent Steve Knar is not running for reelection.

• Daily Herald staff writers Lauren Rohr, Susan Sarkauskas and Madhu Krishnamurthy contributed to this report.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.