Harper College honored with four 2024 BEA Festival of Media Arts Awards including Best of Festival

The Broadcast Education Association (BEA) has announced the winners for its 2024 Festival of Media Arts Awards. Harper College – which is home to radio station WHCM (88.3FM) – received four awards (out of five awards in total) in the Two-year College category – including the coveted “Best of Festival” recognition.

The Harper College award winners are:

  • Student Ricardo “Richy” Garcia, Harper Radio show host, for his audio submission “NoirVember.” Garcia’s entry earned him Best of Festival.
  • Student and WHCM General Manager Matt Byrne, Harper Radio show host, for his audio submission “The Night Shift Promo.”
  • Student Cheryl Winkelmann for her video entry, “Short Film Insanity.”

Winkelmann’s entry came as the result of a video she created as part of the Audio/Video Technology Program at Harper College.

To learn more about that program, visit;

BEA’s international digital media and broadcast competition for faculty and students from over 300 participating schools and over 1,880 entries from around the world. All finalists will receive Festival Awards, and the winners will receive their awards at the Festival in Las Vegas this April.

Harper Radio WHCM 88.3 FM is a student run college radio station at Harper College, broadcasting across northern Chicagoland and streaming worldwide at Staffed by Harper students, faculty, alumni, and volunteers WHCM is purposely different with a freeform format and a dedicated commitment to playing local music. In addition to The Local Music Show featuring the best bands and artists from around Chicago, Harper Radio spins new music from the community throughout the day.

The Broadcast Education Association (BEA) is the premier international academic media organization, driving insights, excellence in media production, and career advancement for educators, students, and professionals. The association’s publications, annual convention, web-based programs, and regional district activities provide opportunities for juried production competition and presentation of current scholarly research related to aspects of the electronic media. These areas include media audiences, economics, law and policy, regulation, news, management, aesthetics, social effects, history, and criticism, among others.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.