Breaking News Bar
updated: 10/17/2013 10:30 AM

Illinois Library Association Presents Three Awards To Schaumburg Township District Library Staff

Success - Article sent! close
  • Pictured with Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White are STDL staff(from left) Pat Barch, Katie LaMantia and  Amy Alessio.

      Pictured with Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White are STDL staff(from left) Pat Barch, Katie LaMantia and Amy Alessio.
    Susan Miura

Susan Miura, Schaumburg Township District Library

Illinois Library Association awards were presented Oct. 15 to three staff members of the Schaumburg Township District Library. The staff members were honored during an awards ceremony held at Chicago's Navy Pier.

Young Adult Librarian Amy Alessio received the Young Adult Librarian of the Year award, which recognizes outstanding service to teens by an Illinois librarian. Alessio has created and implemented library programs and services that promote a love of literature and instill positive feelings about libraries. Additionally, she has published several books on developing programs for teens.

Young Adult Librarian Katie LaMantia was honored with the Crossman Memorial Award which recognizes the achievements of library workers who are relatively new to the field. LaMantia received her award for having "accomplished a great deal over a short time," according to the ILA. She has implemented numerous teen programs and book discussions, and played a key role in the design of the library's new Teen Place.

Literacy Coordinator Pat Barch was presented with the Robert P. Doyle ILA Conference Grant for Support Staff Award. With more than three decades of service to the library, Barch has worked tirelessly with immigrants and others who want to learn English reading, writing and speaking skills, and/or become U.S. citizens. During the past three years, Barch has coordinated Citizenship Ceremonies at the library, in which more than two hundred people have taken the U.S. Naturalization Oath.

"On behalf of the library, I want to congratulate these outstanding individuals for their work in the library, throughout the township and in many cases, even beyond our borders," said Library Director Stefi Sarnoff. "Each one has used their passion, knowledge and creativity to create valuable programs and resources, as well as share their love of books with our community."

Get articles sent to your inbox.

    Winner - 2015 Best Website
    Illinois Press Association
    Illinois Press Association