Breaking News Bar
posted: 5/9/2013 12:35 PM

Barrington Hills man to receive award for helping poor

Success - Article sent! close
  • Dr. Thomas Wettergren

    Dr. Thomas Wettergren


• Barrington Hills resident Bernard H. Shapiro, director of litigation for Prairie State Legal Services, Rockford, will receive the Joseph R. Bartylak Memorial Legal Services Award from the Illinois State Bar Association at the organization's 137th annual meeting in June, at The Grand Geneva Resort in Lake Geneva, Wis.

The award honors the extraordinary commitment and dedication of a civil legal services attorney who provides the highest caliber of compassionate legal representation to Illinois' low-income population.

• The Elk Grove High School Fishing Team was named Sectional Champions at the Illinois High School Association Bass Fishing Sectional Tournament, held April 22, at the Busse Woods Reservoir in Elk Grove Village.

Heading to state are juniors John Hornsberger and Austin Beaupre and sophomore Dominic Culbertson. The total weight caught was 3 lbs. 12 oz., earning them first place.

Also competing in the sectionals were sophomore Jacob Cooper and freshmen Jacob Gehring and Dalton Renner. Assistant coaches John Hornsberger Sr., and Joe Panico were the boat drivers for the competition.

• A Naval Sea Systems Command scientist was named the winner of the Harry Diamond Memorial Award for 2012, sponsored by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers in April.

Dr. Thomas Wettergren, a Schaumburg native, won the award, which recognizes and honors individuals for distinguished technical contributions in the field of electrotechnology while in U.S. government service.

Wettergren has developed a nationally and internationally recognized research program in the area of applied mathematics as related to the use of operational and information science in undersea warfare. His expertise led to his appointment in 2010 to the position of U.S. Navy senior technologist for Operational and Information Science at NUWC.

He will be presented the award during the institute's annual meeting and Sustainability Conference this August in Portland, Ore.