Glenbard South Theatre to present epic Greek tragedy 'The Trojan Women' Nov. 16-18

Updated 11/14/2023 11:59 PM

Join Glenbard South High School for "The Trojan Women," a modern adaptation of Euripides' classic Greek tragedy, which unfolds amidst the grim ruins of a war-torn world.

In this desolate landscape, the surviving Trojan women, including the resolute Hecuba, grapple with grief, loss and the impending doom of enslavement at the hands of the victorious Greek soldiers.


Through poetic and searing dialogue, Ellen McLaughlin's adaptation weaves themes of fate, power, and the human cost of war into a poignant narrative that delves deep into the harsh realities of a world on the brink of collapse. This powerful play remains a poignant and thought-provoking piece of theater that resonates with contemporary audiences as we reflect on our tumultuous times.

Performances will be at 7:30 p.m. Thursday to Saturday, Nov. 16-18, in the Glenbard South Theatre, 23W200 Butterfield Road in Glen Ellyn. This show contains themes geared toward older audiences and is not appropriate for children. Please note that theatrical haze will be used in this production.

All seats are $10 general admission. Purchanse tickets online in advance at or at the door. Cash/check will be accepted at the door. Online/credit card sales close six hours before each show.

Cast members include Ella Larramore, Grace Rolston, Juliana Henry, Danielle Allaway, Sam Boyd, Aiden Arquilla, Olivia Abbott, Erin Egan, Mia Guetzow, Liyana Khader, Aniyah Nelson, and Myk Totty.

Student leaders include: stage manager Kaitlyn Urbanowicz; assistant stage manager Elizabeth Pekkarinen; master carpenters Adam Berntsen and Joe Johnson; sub-in master carpenter Riven Wisniewski; charge artists Maxine Domecka and Breanne Crawford; assistant in scenic design and master electrician Andrew Lullo; and costume crew head Julia Noak.

Build crew members include Aaron Berntsen, Grace Bittlingmaier, Owen Croson, Isabella Dodd, Arcier Funez Sanchez, Kaitlyn Haas, EmmaLeigh Kidder, Quinlin Pounders, Will Prindible, Kaitlyn Urbanowicz, and Riven Wisniewski. Paint crew members include Valerie Aliga, Amelia Buhle, McKenna Cooke, Vicky Gaborek, Elizabeth Pekkarinen, Elliana Polsley, Emerson Stern, Anna Sundquist. Costume crew members include Dylin Alexander, Alaina Biesenkamp, Angelica Buchanan, Anna Cleland, McKenna Cooke, Ashton Czerwinski, Ashe DeFlorio, Evi De La Cruz, Delilah Durek, Khadijah Ibrahim, Emma-Leigh Kidder, Kanik LaFrancis, Luciana Moran, Isabella Ramirez, and Julianna Webb. Lights and sound crew members include Adam Berntsen, Grace Bittlingmaier, Owen Croson, Emerson Girling, Joe Johnson, Evalina Olsen, and Quinlin Pounders.

Go to comments: 0 posted
Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.