YWCA Elgin Leader Luncheon announces 2022 nominees

  • Nominees for YWCA Elgin's 38th annual Leader Luncheon Awards

    Nominees for YWCA Elgin's 38th annual Leader Luncheon Awards

  • YWCA Elgin's 38th annual Leader Luncheon on Thursday, May 12

    YWCA Elgin's 38th annual Leader Luncheon on Thursday, May 12

Posted3/27/2022 1:01 PM

The YWCA Elgin will host its 38th annual Leader Luncheon on Thursday, May 12, at The Seville in Streamwood. Twenty women leaders have been nominated this year for these prestigious awards.

The event is supported by Title sponsor The Schrieber Group of Elgin, and Leader Circle sponsors, Amita Health St. Joseph Hospital Elgin and Elgin Community College.


Recipients will be awarded at the luncheon with Sharon Bush of the Grand Victoria Foundation as the keynote speaker. Hundreds of community leaders, business representatives and volunteers attend this time-honored tradition of celebrating Elgin area women leaders.

The following have been nominated this year by their colleagues and peers.

• Margaret Hillis Award for the Arts: Ivette De Santiago, assistant director, Side Street Studios

• Beatrice Dorsey Award for Business & Professions: Jennifer Cook, owner, Cook's Ice Cream & Cook's Sweet Boutique; Sheri De Shazo, president, Advocate Sherman Hospital; Sierra Dunner, owner, SieFit Fitness Studio; Melissa Hernandez, president, Northern Kane County Chamber of Commerce; and Dr. Karen Love, program chair, Bachelor's and Masters of Organizational Leadership, Judson University

• Marguerite Henry Award for Communications & Technology: Mary Dulabaum, director of marketing and communications, Judson University

• Harriet Gifford & Hattie Griffin Award for Education: Cherie Aschenbrenner, senior liaison, Department of Neighborhood Services, City of Elgin; AnnMarie Dufelmeier, assistant principal, St. Edward's Central Catholic High School Elgin; Cathy Taylor, dean of sustainability, business and career technologies division, Elgin Community College; and Teresa Winters, executive director, School District U-46

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

• Myrtle Spiegler Gerberding Award for Public Service: Barb Keselica, assistant director, City of Elgin Parks and Recreation Department; Heidi Holthusen, supervisor, Elgin Police Department Communications Shift; Martha Martinez, manager, Pandemic Health Navigator Program, Gail Borden Public Library; and Tissanie Simmons, owner, Pine Cone Events Venue

• Betty Brown Award for Racial Justice: Brittney Nicole Walker, owner, Brittney Walker Consulting LLC

• Marie Grolich Award for Social Services: Sister Leticia M. Lapid, OSF, spiritual care chaplain, Amita Health St. Joseph Hospital Elgin;

• Marjorie Leonard Award for Volunteer & Community Service: Mariana Barriga, volunteer, Elgin Community College; Linda Ramirez, owner, Goosehead Insurance; and Mary Jo Sheehy, retired nurse and volunteer.

For information about the luncheon, tickets to the event, and/or sponsorship, contact the YWCA Elgin at (847) 742-7930 or visit ywcaelgin.ywca.org/LL.

The luncheon, featuring keynote speaker Sharon Bush, president of the Grand Victoria Foundation, will be 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Tickets are $55 or $50 for YWCA members.


Get articles sent to your inbox.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.