Nominations open until Nov. 1 for 2022 Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame inductees

Posted9/7/2021 4:49 PM

The Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame is accepting nominations of outstanding visual, literary, media and performing artists for its 2022 class of inductees.

Anyone may submit a name for consideration and there is no fee. The nomination form is located at


The deadline for nominations is Monday, Nov. 1. The 2022 honorees will be announced at a January press conference.

The inductees will be feted at a grand gala on Friday, April 22, at Villa Olivia in Bartlett. It will include FVAHOF 2020 inductees since that event was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. For more information, email

The Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame recognizes artists associated with the Fox Valley by birth, education, residence or service, who have achieved international or national acclaim.

Candidates should have completed 20 years in their professional field and received recognition for excellence. The honor is for living artists or can be awarded posthumously. Artists previously recommended may be nominated again, but a new form is necessary.

The Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame was a dream of Lucille Halfvarson and other arts leaders that took tangible form during the millennium (2000) celebrations in Aurora, Illinois.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

A series of two-minute history sketches for public television briefly put the spotlight on violinist Maud Powell, an Aurora girl who, a century earlier, had the musical world at her feet. The committee that worked on this project evolved into the Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame; a nonprofit organization that gives public recognition to artists associated with the Fox Valley.

A second objective of the Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame is to ensure a strong cultural legacy for future generations.

Inductees are honored with engraved plaques that are displayed at the Hemmens Cultural Center in Elgin. The founders are Joyce Dlugopolski, Jay Harriman, Mary Clark Ormond, Susan S. Starrett, and deceased members Lucille and Sten Halfvarson, G. Edward Nelson, Roger Parolini, and Charlotte and George Peichl.


Get articles sent to your inbox.

Article Comments
Attention: We are experiencing technical difficulties with our Facebook Comments module at this time. Comments will remain disabled until we are able to resolve the problem. We apologize for the interruption. We invite you to engage with our content and talk with other commenters on our Daily Herald Facebook page at Thank you.