West Chicago District 94 students named Illinois State Scholars

Updated 5/12/2021 11:56 PM

Thirty-seven West Chicago Community High School students in Community High School District 94 have been named 2021-22 State Scholars for their outstanding academic achievement.

The ISAC State Scholar Program recognizes students attending approved high schools for outstanding academic achievement.


State scholar designation provides honorary recognition with no monetary award.

Approximately the top ten percent of graduates from approved high schools are announced as State Scholars each year. The 2021-22 designation applies to the year students will begin their postsecondary education.

The 2021-22 Illinois State Scholars are:

• From Carol Stream: Emily Bove, Payton Campbell, Sophia McComb, Shailee Patel, and Brock Ullman.

• From West Chicago: Maryam Al Kubaisi, Emily Ayala, Luciana Balzer, Annette Barron, Lola Browning, Charles Cardenas, Christina Champagne, Teegan Cook, Coen Garling, Sarah Gimre, Sarah Gramit, Maxwell Harris, Autum Hosticka, Monica Huizar, Christiana Kapetaneas, Adam Khim, David Kuehn, Ruby Lebo, Casey Mantz, Lianna Mateski, Josiah McLean, Sarah Miller, Claudia Mora, Julia Nosky, Sadie Obenauer, Leah Ryan, Caleb Shade, Brooklynn Worth, and Giovanni Zavalza.

• From Winfield: Justin Blackburn, Matthew Stavenger, and Evan Wing.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.