Hawthorn Middle School North Science Olympiad Team Has Its Best Year Yet

  • Photo Courtesy of Hawthorn School District 73

    Photo Courtesy of Hawthorn School District 73

Updated 4/29/2021 11:13 AM

(Top left to right) Shivam Alimchandani, Rohit Dashaputra, (bottom left to right) Om Kotwal and Anya Sabharwal are among the members of the Hawthorn Middle School North Science Olympiad Team that just completed its best year yet. The varsity team placed third in the state competition, its highest ever placement at state, earning 10 medals. Coached by Mrs. Cindi Frayman and Mrs. Shital Sabharwal, the team successfully navigated this year's virtual competitions that for the first time included teams from across the country.

Members of the varsity team include Aishi Agarwal, Shivam Alimchandani, Rodrigo Bautista, Stephen Chan, Rohit Dashaputra, Eeman Dayala, Hamiz Iqbal, Om Kotwal, Zoe Mehta, Shruthi Menon, Arushi Panda, Anya Sabharwal, Kristina Semenova, Charles Sostak and Madelyn Wright.

Hawthorn School District 73 is a preschool through eighth-grade public school district serving approximately 4,000 students. It serves all or portions of the communities of Vernon Hills, Mundelein, Libertyville, Indian Creek and unincorporated areas of Lake County, Illinois.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.