League of Women Voters of the Elgin Area hosts virtual candidate forums

Updated 9/22/2020 1:05 PM

The League of Women Voters of the Elgin Area is hosting a series of virtual candidate forums to be streamed to their Facebook page and then posted for later viewing on both Facebook and the league's website

This week's forums include: Illinois Senate Dist. 25, Karine Villa (Democrat) and Jeanette Ward (Republican) on Tuesday, Sept. 22; Kane County Board Chairman, Corinne Pierog (Democrat) and David Rickert (Republican) on Wednesday, Sept. 23; and Kane County Circuit Clerk, Theresa Barreiro (Democrat) and Thomas Hartwell (Republican) on Thursday, Sept. 24.


Next week's forums include: Kane County State's Attorney, Jamie Mosser (Democrat) and Robert Spence (Republican) on Tuesday, Sept. 29; and Kane County Auditor, Penny Wegman (Democrat) and Terry Hunt (Republican) on Thursday, Oct. 1.

All forums begin at 7 p.m. on www.facebook.com/LWVElginArea/ and should be available on the LWVEA website's lwvelginarea.org the next day.

In addition to the forums, recordings of joint League of Women Voters forums for a number of larger districts will be available on the website as they occur. These include the 6th Congressional District, Sean Casten (Democrat), Jeanne Ives (Republican), and Bill Redpath (Libertarian); the 14th Congressional District, Jim Oberweis (Republican) and Lauren Underwood (Democrat); and Illinois Representative District 65, Martha Paschke (Democrat) and Dan Ugaste (Republican).

The website has candidate questionnaires for a number of candidates, including some whose forums were canceled due to their opponent refusing to participate. The names of those who refused participate are also listed.

For more information, go to the LWVEA website lwvelginarea.org, or contact Carol Grom, the League's Voter Service Chair, by email at forums@lwvelginarea.org.


Get articles sent to your inbox.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.