Hawthorn School District 73 Opens Kindergarten Registration for 2021-2022

Updated 2/4/2021 11:53 AM

Registration is now open for all incoming Hawthorn School District 73 kindergarten students for the 2021-2022 school year. To register, visit:



Kindergarten students attend the Hawthorn School for Young Learners, the District's new kindergarten building, at 637 N. Aspen Drive in Vernon Hills. Another option is to attend kindergarten at the Hawthorn School of Dual Language, 810 N. Aspen Drive in Vernon Hills. The Hawthorn School of Dual Language is a K-5 school. This school provides instruction to students in both Spanish and English. The School of Dual Language has three interrelated goals:

-High Academic Achievement: Students learn the same academic and curricular content as all the other students, with the added benefit of learning a new language.

-Bilingualism/Biliteracy: Students will learn to listen, speak, read and write in Spanish and English in both social and academic settings.

-Socio-cultural Competence: Students in dual language programs are supported to learn the similarities and differences within cultures, but rather than identifying the differences as obstacles to overcome, they should be viewed as opportunities to connect.

In order to attend kindergarten in the state of Illinois, a child should be 5 years old on or before September 1 of the kindergarten year and live within the boundaries of the school district. Parents who would like to verify that they live within the boundaries should visit the boundary map on the district's website at: http://www.hawthorn73.org/district-reorganization-plan/.

To assist with the registration process, the District has produced a short video that is available on the District's website at: https://www.hawthorn73.org/hawthorn-information/registration/kindergarten/.

Hawthorn School District 73 is a preschool through eighth-grade public school district serving approximately 3,900 students. It serves all or portions of the communities of Vernon Hills, Mundelein, Libertyville, Indian Creek and unincorporated areas of Lake County, Illinois.