Governor releases NFL head's response about missed penalty

                                                                                                                                                                                                   
 
 
Updated 2/11/2019 6:06 PM

BATON ROUGE, La. -- NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell has told Louisiana's governor there was an error in the officiating that helped the Los Angeles Rams go to the Super Bowl instead of the New Orleans Saints, but there's nothing he can do about it.

Goodell wrote to Gov. John Bel Edwards saying a penalty should have been called. But reiterating earlier comments, Goodell said he's not authorized to overturn game results because of an officiating error, and clubs haven't supported replays to review penalty calls or non-calls.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service
                                                                                                                                                                                                                       
 

Edwards released a copy of the letter Monday.

Goodell said the league will consider whether rule or procedure changes could prevent similar problems going forward.

Edwards says that's cold comfort to Saints fans, but he applauds Goodell's willingness to review the error.

Edwards wrote to Goodell Jan. 22. Goodell said it apparently arrived while he was away at the Super Bowl. Goodell's reply was dated Feb. 6.

0 Comments
                                                                                                                                                                                                                       
 
Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.