Kaneland WYSE team headed to state

Updated 4/1/2013 9:45 AM

Submitted by Kaneland High School

The Kaneland High School Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering team is headed to state on Tuesday, April 9, at the University of Illinois in Champaign.

The run began in February when the team placed first in its regional competition at Waubonsee Community College.

In March, the team got second place in the Northern Illinois University sectional.

Team adviser Sharon Beck began her role with the team in 1997. This is the second straight year her team has qualified for state.

The team includes: Tucker DeBolt, English, math; Kate Dray, chemistry, English; Chris Farrell, physics, English; Sean Flamand, physics, English; Kerri Groen, math, biology; Nicole Hanlon, English, biology; James Lim, math, physics; Beau Ott, physics, English; Mary Piazza, biology, chemistry; Muneed Rehman, biology, chemistry; Nathaniel Snyder, math, biology; Ryan Straughn, math, chemistry; Jordan Thelander, math, chemistry; and Ethan Witt, math, physics.