Chicago Bar Association releases judicial recommendations

Updated 2/24/2012 6:28 PM

The Chicago Bar Association has released its evaluations of judicial candidates for the Illinois Supreme Court, First District Appellate Court, and Cook County Circuit Court.

For the state's high court, the CBA found Mary Jane Theis, appointed to the Supreme Court in 2010, and Joy Virginia Cunningham highly qualified. The association found Aurelia Marie Pucinski and James Gerard Riley qualified. Thomas W. Flannigan was not recommended.


For the six vacancies in the Appellate Court's First District, the CBA found the following candidates highly qualified: Mathias William Delort, Kay Marie Hanlon, James Michael McGing, Nathaniel Roosevelt Howse Jr. and Don R. Sampen. The association found Mary Brigid Hayes, Laura Marie Sullivan, Patrick J. Sherlock, P. Scott Neville Jr., Marguerite Anne Quinn, Jesse G. Reyes, Rodolfo (Rudy) Garcia, William Stewart Boyd, Maureen Elizabeth Connors and Terrence J. Lavin qualified. Pamela E. Hill-Veal and Ellen L. Flannigan were not recommended by the CBA.

In Cook County's 11th subcircuit, which includes parts of Des Plaines and Chicago, the CBA found Maureen A. Murphy, Michael R. Clancy, Maritza Martinez, Roger Zamparo, Lisa Ann Marino and Pamela McLean Meyerson qualified. The CBA did not recommend Deborah J. Fortier and Jennifer A. Blanc.

In the 12th subcircuit, which comprises parts of Wheeling, Elk Grove, Maine, New Trier and Northfield townships, the association found Andrea M. Schleifer, Michael John Halloran and James C. Murray qualified. Robert P. Babbitt, Daniel P. Scott and James Paul Pieczonka were not recommended.

In the 13th subcircuit, which includes parts of Arlington Heights, Barrington, Hoffman Estates, Palatine, Schaumburg and Streamwood, the CBA found Nicholas G. Grapsas highly qualified. Ketki "Kay" Steffen and Paul S. Pavlus were found to be qualified and Peter A Pacione and Martin C. Kelley were not recommended.

In the countywide race for the circuit court, the CBA found Jean Prendergast Rooney, Russell W. Hartigan, Gerald V. Cleary, Lorna Ellen Propes, Michael A. Forti and Michael Tully Mullen highly qualified. The association rated the follow candidates as qualified: Karen Lynn O'Malley, Stanley L. Hill Sr., Kevin Cunningham, Erica L. Reddick, Cynthia Ramirez, Kevin W. Horan, Diann Karen Marsalek, Edward J. Maloney, Jessica A. O'Brien, James A. Wright, Pamela M. Leeming, Mary Margaret Burke, Alfred M. Swanson Jr., Joan Marie Kubalanza, Peter J. Vilkelis and Brian J. Stephenson. Jo Anne Hopson Guillemette, Nichole C. Patton, Rodrick F. Wimberly, Terrence M. Jordan, Deidre Baumann, Sammy W. Lacey Jr., Rhonda Sallee, Steve Demitro, Denise Marie Nalley and Elizabeth Mary Hayes were not recommended.

Go to comments: 0 posted
Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.