Supervisor’s Community Service Award winners recognized

Winners and nominees were honored at the Supervisor’s Community Service Awards Breakfast at the Hanover Township Senior Center on Saturday, April 6.

A volunteer committee reviewed the nominations submitted by the community for awards in five categories. Nominations are judged on the service activities of the individual or community organization, in addition to the impact the service has on the community and individuals in the community.

Awards were presented to: Mark Salman, Youth Volunteer; Maria Harshbarger, Adult Volunteer; Kathy Biesiadecki, Senior Volunteer; the Tri-Village Garden Club, Service Organization of the Year; and Strafford Construction, Business Organization of the Year.

This year’s committee included Chairperson Marv Kramer, Lori Ann Airdo, Adam Kanyuh, Kerrie Trebonsky, and Mary Wojtczak.

“The quantity and quality of the nominations submitted each year is truly amazing,” said Brian P. McGuire, Hanover Township Supervisor. “We are proud to honor the significant accomplishments, dedicated service, and selfless contributions from so many individuals, businesses and community groups that make a Hanover Township a better place.”

Those receiving the Supervisor’s Choice Awards included: Kayveon Pittmann, Youth Volunteer; Jordan Wildermuth, Adult Volunteer; Emilio Ascue, Senior Volunteer; Essendant, Service Organization of the Year; and Christ the Lord Lutheran Church, Business Organization of the Year.

Michael Dexter was presented with the event’s top recognition, the Mary Ellen “Mel” Runzel Volunteer Service Award. A resident of Bartlett, Dexter recently stepped down as President of the Bartlett Volunteer Fire Association following 30 years in leading the organization as it raised and donated tens of thousands of dollars to local charities and service organizations.

The award was created in 2013 to honor Mel for her immeasurable efforts in creating new programs and recruiting volunteers as a former Township Trustee and Township Welfare Services Director.

To sign up to receive a nomination form for the 2025 awards, please email

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.