Wheaton RB Weeks, North Central RB Sacco lead AP Division III All-America team

Quarterback Zac Boyes, who led Cortland to its first national championship, and running Joe Sacco from national runner-up North Central highlighted The Associated Press Division III All-America Team.

Boyes had 349 yards passing and 123 rushing in Cortland's 38-37 victory against North Central in the title game last week. He was joined on the first team by teammates Cody Aikey, an offensive lineman, and Cole Burgess, a wide receiver.

North Central, which won national titles in 2022 and 2019, had five players chosen first-team All-America, more than any other school. Joining Sacco, who ran for 1,661 yards, were offensive linemen Jeske Maples and Jarod Thornton, receiver DeAngelo Hardy (Lakes High School) and receiver Joey Lombardi, who was selected as an all-purpose player.

Maples and Hardy are All-Americans for the second straight season, along with Mount Union receiver Wayne Ruby and defensive end Rossy Moore and Saint John's tight end Alex Larson.

North Central quarterback Luke Lehnen, who won the Gagliardi Trophy last week as the top player in Division III, was selected to the second team.

Wheaton College placed running back Giovanni Weeks on the first team. Aurora University added all-purpose player James Mautino to the second team. Benedictine University added defensive lineman Brian Pritt to the second team.

The Division III All-America team is chosen by a panel of sports information directors who cover Division III football.

FIRST TEAM (Offense)

Quarterback — Zac Boyes, fourth-year, Cortland.

Running backs — Giovanni Weeks, fifth-year, Wheaton (Ill.); Joe Sacco, third-year, North Central (Ill.).

Linemen — Jeske Maples, third-year, North Central (Ill.); Mike Bertoia, fifth-year, Wisconsin-La Crosse; Jarod Thornton, fifth-year, North Central (Ill.); Matthew Kickel, third-year, Aurora; Cody Aikey, third-year, Cortland.

Tight end — Alex Larson, fifth-year, Saint John's (Minn.).

Receivers — DeAngelo Hardy, fifth-year, North Central (Ill.); Wayne Ruby, fifth-year, Mount Union; Cole Burgess, sixth-year, Cortland.

All-purpose player — Joey Lombardi, third-year, North Central (Ill.).

Kicker — Michael Stack, second-year, Wisconsin-La Crosse.

FIRST TEAM (Defense)

Linemen — Justin Blazek, fifth-year, Wisconsin-Platteville; Luke Schuermann, fourth-year, Johns Hopkins; Rossy Moore, third-year, Mount Union; Anthony Cikauskas, second-year, Monmouth (Ill.).

Linebackers — Owen Grover, fifth-year, Wartburg; Odin Soffredine, fifth-year, Alma; Caleb Harmel, fifth-year, Trinity (Texas).

Defensive backs — Parker Rochford, third-year, Wartburg; K.J. Kelley, fifth-year, Howard Payne; Derek Slywka, fourth-year, Ithaca; Egon Hein, fifth-year, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Josh Jones, fifth-year, Mount Union.

Punter — Cameron Shirangi, fourth-year, Pomona-Pitzer.


Quarterback — Luke Lehnen, third-year, North Central (Ill.).

Running backs —Hunter Clasen, fifth-year, Wartburg; Brandon Cade, third-year, Berry.

Linemen — Ben Lilly, fourth-year, Mount Union; Vinny LePre, fifth-year, Grove City; Nehemiah Nixon, fifh-year, Randolph-Macon; Alex Klecker, fifth-year, Wisconsin-River Falls; Justyn Lester, fifth-year, Endicott.

Tight end — James Nye, fifth-year, Muhlenberg.

Receivers — Collin Brunstein, fourth-year, Illinois College; Jake Breitbach, fourth-year, Gustavus Adolphus; Jack Studer, fifth-year, Wisconsin-La Crosse.

All-purpose player — James Mautino, fifth-year, Aurora.

Kicker — Tyler Huettel, third-year, Trinity (Texas).


Linemen — Jordan Downing, fifth-year, Wartburg; Ryan Bodolus, fourth-year, Ursinus; Martin Egbo, fourth-year, North Central (Ill.) Brian Pritt, third-year, Benedictine (Ill.).

Linebackers — Robert Coury, fourth-year, Carnegie Mellon; Blake Rybar, third-year, Linfield; Jack Winey, third-year, Cortland.

Defensive backs — Raylens Boutin, fifh-year, Brockport; Julian Bell, fourth-year, North Central (Ill.); Dalton Tjong, third-year, Ohio Northern; Will Pickren, fourth-year, Hampden-Sydney; Jack Shaw, fifth-year, Coe.

Punter — Andrew Toler, fourth-year, Rose-Hulman.


Selection panel: Ira Thor (New Jersey City); Mark Albanese (Pacific Lutheran); Ashley Birchmeier (Hanover); Phil de Montmollin (Brevard); Kim DeRitter (Kean); Lindsay Dietmeier (Wisconsin-Platteville); Tristan Durgin (U. of New England); Fran Elia (Cortland); Ryan Emerson (Dean); Mark Fisher (Carnegie Mellon); Joe Flaherty (Central, Iowa); Lance Franey (Redlands); Tim Glon (Ohio Northern); Chad Grubbs (Hardin-Simmons); Brent Harris (Wabash); Geoff Henson (Olivet); Sean King (Allegheny); Brian Kipley (Aurora); Ryan Klinkner (Saint John's (Minn.);, Ernie Larossa (Johns Hopkins); Justin Lutes (Ithaca); Kathy Lynch (Framingham State); Brian Magoffin (Springfield); Brett Marhanka (Wheaton (Ill.); Maxx McNall (Wesleyan); J.J. Nekoloff (Old Dominion Athletic Conference); John Painter (Maryville. Tenn.);, Justin Parker (Trinity, Texas); Brock Reisler (Ripon); BJ Schneck (Greenville); Clark Teuscher (North Central, Ill.); James Wagner (Stevenson).

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.