West Chicago Elementary District 33 welcomes new board

A special West Chicago Elementary District 33 board meeting was held on Thursday, April 29, to reorganize and seat the new board of education members after the April 6 consolidated election.

At the meeting, Chad McLean and Felicia Gills were reinstated for another term and the oath of office was administered.

Newcomers to the board, Morgan Banasiak and Sandra Garcia, were sworn in to serve their first terms on the District 33 board.

Outgoing board members Kalpesh Dave and Christian Rivera were thanked for their years of service.

Rita Balgeman was appointed to the position of president and Felicia Gills was appointed to the position as vice president. Member Tom Doyle was appointed to serve as secretary.

Residents within the school district's boundaries elect West Chicago Elementary School District 33 board members.

Board members volunteer their time to lead the district and serve 4-year terms on a staggered basis. Board members adopt policies and rules that govern the administration of the school district and operate in strict accordance with Illinois laws and Illinois State Board of Education regulations.

To contact board members, visit

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.