Stoltman wins final Bensenville District 2 seat

A coin toss Friday morning awarded the fourth and final open Bensenville Elementary District 2 seat to James Stoltman.

Stoltman had been tied, with 547 votes, with Lori Parthimos for the final seat in a seven-person race after election officials finished counting the last of vote-by-mail and provisional ballots Tuesday. State law required DuPage County to hold a random drawing to determine the winner, and election officials decided to use a coin toss.

A random drawing of pingpong balls determined who would get heads and who would get tails, Stoltman said. Stoltman won with heads.

He works in the IT department at Elgin Community College and has been a PTA volunteer. Parthimos is a special-education teacher in Leyden High School District 212.

Parthimos said Thursday she didn't see a need for requesting a so-called discovery recount of ballots in up to 25 percent of the district's 18 precincts, to determine whether a full recount is needed. She said she planned to run again in two years if she lost the coin toss.

Coin flip to break tie in Bensenville school board race

Lori Parthimos
Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.