Glenbard South Theatre to present 'Anastasia: The Musical' April 20-22

Join Glenbard South High School for "Anastasia: The Musical" on April 20-22.

The thrilling tale of conflict, love and self-discovery is set against the backdrop of revolutionary Russia. The story follows Anya, a young woman who may or may not be the long-lost daughter of the Russian Tsar, as she sets out on a dangerous journey to discover her true identity and confront her past.

Along the way, she must contend with ruthless enemies, unexpected allies, and her own inner demons as she fights to reclaim her place in a world that has been turned upside down. With a captivating score and breathtaking visuals, "Anastasia: The Musical" is a must-see for anyone who loves a gripping story of struggle and triumph in the face of adversity.

Performances are 7:30 p.m. Thursday to Saturday in Glenbard South's auditorium at 23W200 Butterfield Road in Glen Ellyn.

All seats are $12, and seating is reserved. Purchase tickets online at Online ticket sales will close the day before each performance. Tickets will be available at the door with cash or check only. No credit cards will be accepted for seats purchased the day of the show.

Senior Alina Dukala, who has been in every show since freshman year, is playing Anastasia.

The cast also includes Felicity Abbott, Olivia Abbott, Michael Alam, Danielle Allaway, Jacinda Alvarez, Abby Anderson, Liza Boguslavsky, Sam Boyd, Emily Cascio, Colin Crook, Kaden Cu, Ashton Czerwinski, Bella Dodd, Nico Duenas, Erin Egan, Maggie Falkenberg, Lily Guetzow, Kaitlyn Haas, Dylan Heid, Juliana Henry, Hans Herrera, Joe Johnson, Matthew Kohl, Ella Larramore, Kayla Milano, Reganne Nash, Aniyah Nelson, Emma Pekkarinen, Will Prindible, Grace Rolston, Leah Rupp, Bryn Showalter, Param Sridhar, Samantha Stacy, Mykala Totty, Robert West, Riven Wisniewski, Haley Wong, and Athena Zamfoti.

Build crew members include Adam Berntsen, Aaron Berntsen, Grace Bittlingmaier, Owen Croson, Kaden Cu, Arcier Funez Sanchez, Joe Johnson, Erik Schmall, Lizzie Steele, Zaria Taylor, Kaitlyn Urbanowicz, and Riven Wisniewski.

Paint crew members include Amelia Buhle, Breanna Crawford, Ash DeFlorio, Maxine Domecka, Liyanna Khader, Christian Kunz, Colin Luangrath, Andrew Lullo, Elizabeth Pekkarinen, Zoe Price, Precious Smith, Anna Stephens, Emerson Stern, and Anna Sundquist.

Costume crew members include Jacqueline Barrera, Anna Cleland, Stella Cletcher, Ashe DeFlorio, Ashley Foster, Hanna Griffin, Liyana Khader, Julia Noak, Amelia Paul, Johnny Rotondo, Rachel Torres, and Julianna Webb.

Lights and sound crew members include Andrew Lullo, Vin Tran, Ethan Sears, Owen Croson, James Jeschke, Sarah Jeschke, Kaitlyn Urbanowicz, Emery Girling, Colin Luangrath, Adam Berntsen, Amelia Guetzow, and Simona Juknyte.

Pit orchestra members include Aaron Berntsen, Grace Bittlingmaier, Dom Costello, Zach Cooper, Abby Edwards, Lorenza Foster-Simbulan, Victoria Gaborek, Edor Gjata, Sarah Goodin, Nathan Le, Jason Lo, Charlotte Moran, Arya Nade, Andrew Park, Jon Park, David Savenok, Calvin Scharf, Joy Shim, Matt Smalley, Antonio Tapia, Ben Vogt, Maddie Weber, Olivia Weber and Mrs. Robyn Vitson on piano.

Student Leaders include stage manager Kaitlyn Urbanowicz; assistant stage manager Lili Olson; assistant student technical director Lizzie Steele; paint leads Maxine Domecka, Breanna Crawford, and Andrew Lullo; costume crew head Jula Noak; and technology adviser Matthew Kohl.

The director is Jessica Keuth-Rahtjen, with vocal director Liz Hutchinson, music director Steve Govertsen, technical director Kelli Lawrence, costumes & makeup Ellen Hill, lights & sound Stephanie Wallace, and choreographer Jennifer Heim.

"Anastasia: The Musical" is inspired by the 1997 animated musical film. The Broadway musical debuted in 2016, with book by Terrence McNally, music by Stephen Flaherty, and lyrics by Lynn Ahrens.

"Anastasia: The Musical" is presented by arrangement with Concord Theatricals. From the 1952 play by Marcelle Maurette as adapted by Guy Bolton.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.