Election season is here: Races to watch in Kane and DuPage counties

There will be a handful of contested primary races in DuPage and Kane counties, but most candidates will have a clear path to the general election.

Voters in Kane and DuPage counties will cast ballots in March to decide who moves on to the November election. The state's attorney, coroner, circuit court clerk, auditor, recorder of deeds and select county board members in both counties are up for election in 2024.

The weeklong filing period for candidates ended on Monday. The recorder of deeds seat in both counties drew the most attention.

A three-way race will decide who becomes the Democratic nominee for the recorder position in DuPage. Meanwhile, Democrats in Kane will determine which of the two candidates for recorder moves on to the general election.

Lynn LaPlante, a two-term incumbent on the DuPage County Board, faces a challenge from Christine "Christy" Maes in the Democratic primary. LaPlante, who represents District 4 on the county board, said she's no stranger to contested primaries, noting she's faced opponents during two previous elections.

"I'm very excited to be running for my third term," LaPlante, a Glen Ellyn resident, said last week.

District 4 includes Glendale Heights, Glen Ellyn and Wheaton.

Maes currently serves on the Glenside Public Library District board.

"I am running for DuPage County District 4 to give a voice to working families like my own," said Maes, who lives in Glendale Heights.

DuPage County Democrats also will decide who gets the nod to move on to the November election for coroner, where Jeffrey Jacobson and Judith Lukas are seeking their party's backing.

There are no contested races in the Republican primary for DuPage County offices or board seats.

In Kane County, three incumbent Republican county board members face challengers in the primary. In District 12, incumbent Bill Roth is being challenged by Michelle Geen. Incumbent Mark Davoust faces Jonathan Gripe in the Republican primary for District 14, and incumbent Michael Kenyon faces Eric Stare in District 16.

Democrats Brenda Rodgers and Marisela Villegas are seeking their party's backing to challenge Republican Sandy Wegman for recorder of deeds in the November election. Incumbent Democrat Ron Ford faces a challenge from Sonia Garcia in his bid to be reelected to represent District 6, and incumbent Verner (Vern) Tepe faces Randy Hopp in the Democratic primary in District 22.

Illinois' primary election is on March 19.

Who's filed in DuPage and Kane counties

DuPage County State's Attorney

Robert Berlin, Republican*

County Auditor

William "Bill" White, Democrat*

Bob Grogan, Republican


Richard Jorgensen, Republican*

Jeffrey M. Jacobson, Democrat

Judith Lukas, Democrat


Kathleen Carrier, Democrat*

Elizabeth (Liz) Chaplin, Democrat

Peter "Pete" DiCianni, Democrat

Nicole Prater, Republican

Circuit Court Clerk

Candice Adams, Democrat*

Jeremy "Jaye" Wang, Republican

County Board District 1

Cynthia Cronin Cahill, Republican*

Maria Sinkule, Democrat

County Board District 2

Andrew Honig, Democrat

Laura Hois, Republican

County Board District 3

Lucy Chang Evans, Democrat*

Baron Leacock, Republican

County Board District 4

Lynn LaPlante, Democrat*

Christine "Christy" E. Maes, Democrat

County Board District 5

Patricia "Patty" Gustin, Republican*

Saba Haider, Democrat

County Board District 6

Greg Schwarze, Democrat*

Joe Soto, Republican

Forest Preserve District 3

Linda J. Painter, Republican*

Lester Vaughan, Democrat

Forest Preserve District 4

Jeff Gahris, Democrat*

Jeff Castle, Republican

Forest Preserve District 6

Al Murphy, Republican*

Rick Gieser, Democrat

Kane County Board Chair

Corinne M. Pierog, Democrat*

Lance Bell, Republican

County State's Attorney

Jamie Mosser, Democrat*

Andrew Sosnowski, Republican

County Coroner

L. Robert (Rob) Russell, Republican*

Monica Silva, Democrat

County Circuit Clerk

Theresa E. Barreiro, Democrat*

Anthony L. Catella, Republican

County Auditor

Penny Wegman, Democrat*

Gretchen Butler, Republican

County Recorder

Sandy Wegman, Republican*

Brenda Rodgers, Democrat

Marisela Villegas, Democrat

County Board District 2

Dale Berman, Democrat*

Ellen Nottke, Republican

County Board District 4

Mavis Bates, Democrat*

Donald "Buzz" Foley, Republican

<span class="fact box text bold">County Board District 6</span>

Ron Ford, Democrat*

Sonia Garcia, Democrat

County Board District 8

Michelle Gumz, Democrat*

County Board District 10

William J. Tarver, Democrat*

Laura Curtis, Republican

County Board District 12

Bill Roth, Republican*

Michelle Geen, Republican

Ricky Rivard, Democrat

County Board District 14

Mark Davoust, Republican*

Jonathan Gripe, Republican

Brenda Engelhardt, Democrat

County Board District 16

Michael J. Kenyon, Republican*

Eric Stare, Republican

Ted Penesis, Democrat

County Board District 18

Richard L. "Rick" Williams, Republican*

Sandy Kaczmarski, Democrat

County Board District 20

Cherryl Fritz Strathmann, Democrat*

County Board District 22

Verner (Vern) Tepe, Democrat*

Randy Hopp, Democrat

David W. Teas, Republican

County Board District 24

Jarett Sanchez, Democrat*

*= incumbent

Source: County clerk offices

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.