Races to watch in DuPage, Kane counties: Candidates file petitions for primary

Dozens of candidates for county board and countywide offices kicked off the election season on Monday and filed petitions to get their names on the ballot for the March primary.

In DuPage and Kane counties, voters will cast ballots for select county board members, state's attorney, coroner, circuit court clerk, auditor and recorder of deeds.

Though candidates have a week to file petitions, Monday's filings gave a glimpse at races to watch. The recorder of deeds office has sparked Democratic primaries in both DuPage and Kane counties.

"I think it's going to draw a lot of attention to this important office," Liz Chaplin, a DuPage County Board member, said of the contested primary race for DuPage recorder.

Chaplin is one of three Democratic candidates running in the March primary for recorder. Incumbent Kathleen Carrier, who is seeking a second term, will face Chaplin and former county board member Pete DiCianni.

"I look forward to a good, positive, fair race," Carrier said.

DiCianni, who served on the county board as a Republican and ran in 2022 as a Republican for county board chairman, switched parties and is making his first bid as a Democratic candidate.

After losing his bid for county board chairman in the 2022 Republican primary, he endorsed Democrat Deborah Conroy for county board chairman over Republican Greg Hart.

"I think switching parties has been a long time in the making," DiCianni said in an email outlining his reasons for switching parties. "Sadly, the (Republican) Party has left me, as it has many others."

In Kane County, Democrats Brenda Rodgers and Marisela Villegas are seeking a win in the March primary to advance to the November election.

Incumbent Sandy Wegman, a Republican, also filed Monday for another term as recorder.

Democrats in DuPage County also will face a contested race for coroner. Attorney Jeffrey Jacobson and Winfield Township Trustee Judith Lukas, who also is a registered nurse, are seeking the Democratic nod for DuPage County coroner and a chance to challenge Republican incumbent Richard Jorgensen.

DuPage County Board member Lynn LaPlante also faces a challenger in the Democratic primary to represent District 4, which includes Glendale Heights, Glen Ellyn and Wheaton. LaPlante, who is seeking her third term, will face Christine Maes in March.

No Republican candidates had filed to represent District 4 as of Monday afternoon.

Incumbent Republicans in three Kane County Board districts will square off for a chance to advance to the November election. Bill Roth faces Michelle Green in District 12, Mark Davoust faces Jonathon Gripe in District 14 and Michael Kenyon faces Eric Stare in District 16. Incumbent Ron Ford, a Democrat representing Kane County Board District 6, will face Sonia Garcia in the March primary.

Kane County State's Attorney Jamie Moser also filed petitions seeking reelection. No Republican candidates filed for state's attorney on Monday. Moser, a Democrat, said she is aware of the potential for a challenge in the March primary, but as of Monday afternoon, no other Democrats had filed paperwork to challenge her.

Because the 2020 census required all county board members to run in 2022, some candidates Monday felt a sense of déjà vu. Kane County Board member Cheryl Stratham, for example, has served for three years and is filing for the third time.

But, she said it's worth the effort to continue to serve.

"I feel like I'm paying back, I really do," she said. "And I like the work and I've learned a lot. I think it's worthwhile."

County clerk offices will hold a lottery to determine ballot positions in contested races where candidates filed at the same time.

The last day to file for the March 19 primary is Dec. 4.

  Candidates, including Bill Roth, left, wait in line to file their nominating papers at the Kane County clerk's office. Roth is running for reelection to represent District 12. He is one of three Republican incumbent county board members who face challengers in the March primary. Rick West/
  Candidates lined up outside wait Monday to head in to file for county elections at the Kane County clerk's office in Geneva. Brenda Rodgers, running for Kane County recorder, said she was first in line at 4:52 a.m. Rick West/
  Kane County Auditor Penny Wegman was among the first in line Monday to file her nominating papers at the Kane County clerk's office in Geneva. Rick West/
  Mark Davoust, center, and other candidates enter the Kane County clerk's office in Geneva on Monday. Davoust is running for reelection in District 14. He is one of three Republican incumbent county board members who face challengers in the March primary. Rick West/
  Candidates wait to file paperwork at the Kane County clerk's office in Geneva on Monday. Dec. 4 is the last day for candidates to file for the March primary. Rick West/
  More than 20 hopefuls for countywide and county board seats in DuPage County filed nominating petitions for the March primary on Monday. Alicia Fabbre/

Who's filed so far in DuPage and Kane counties

DuPage County State's Attorney

Robert Berlin, Republican*

County Auditor

William "Bill" White, Democrat*

Bob Grogan, Republican


Richard Jorgensen, Republican*

Jeffrey M. Jacobson, Democrat

Judith Lukas, Democrat


Kathleen Carrier, Democrat*

Elizabeth (Liz) Chaplin, Democrat

Peter "Pete" DiCianni, Democrat

Nicole Prater, Republican

Circuit Court Clerk

Candice Adams, Democrat*

County Board District 1

Cynthia Cronin Cahill, Republican*

Maria Sinkule, Democrat

County Board District 2

Andrew Honig, Democrat

Laura Hois, Republican

County Board District 3

Lucy Chang Evans, Democrat*

County Board District 4

Lynn LaPlante, Democrat*

Christine "Christy" E. Maes, Democrat

County Board District 5

Saba Haider, Democrat

County Board District 6

Greg Schwarze, Democrat*

Forest Preserve District 3

Linda J. Painter, Republican*

Forest Preserve District 4

Jeff Gahris, Democrat*

Jeff Castle, Republican

Forest Preserve District 6

Al Murphy, Republican*

Kane County Board Chair

Corinne M. Pierog, Democrat*

County Coroner

L. Robert (Rob) Russell, Republican*

Monica Silva, Democrat

County State's Attorney

Jamie Mosser, Democrat*

County Circuit Clerk

Theresa E. Barreiro, Democrat*

Anthony L. Catella, Republican

County Auditor

Penny Wegman, Democrat*

County Recorder

Sandy Wegman, Republican*

Brenda Rodgers, Democrat

Marisela Villegas, Democrat

County Board District 2

Dale Berman, Democrat*

Ellen Nottke, Republican

County Board District 4

Mavis Bates, Democrat*

<span class="fact box text bold">County Board District 6</span>

Ron Ford, Democrat*

Sonia Garcia, Democrat

County Board District 8

Michelle Gumz, Democrat*

County Board District 10

Laura Curtis, Republican

County Board District 12

Bill Roth, Republican*

Michelle Geen, Republican

Ricky Rivard, Democrat

County Board District 14

Mark Davoust, Republican*

Jonathan Gripe, Republican

Brenda Engelhardt, Democrat

County Board District 16

Michael J. Kenyon, Republican*

Eric Stare, Republican

Ted Penesis, Democrat

County Board District 18

Richard L. "Rick" Williams, Republican*

Sandy Kaczmarski, Democrat

County Board District 20

Cherryl Fritz Strathmann, Democrat*

County Board District 22

Verner (Vern) Tepe, Democrat*

*= incumbent

‑ Source: County clerk offices

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.