Aurora mayor announces three alderman finalists

Aurora Mayor Richard Irvin on Sunday announced the three finalists for the city's Ward 7 aldermanic seat, according to a news release.

The three candidates, all from Aurora, are: Alex Arroyo, an East Aurora School Board member; Diana Barajas Gonzales, an entrepreneur and victim-rights advocate; and Brandon Tolliver, an insurance underwriter.

Irvin will make his final recommendation to the Aurora City Council before a Sept. 5 vote at a special meeting. The full city council must approve the new alderman.

The Ward 7 seat became vacant after the death of Alderwoman Scheketa Hart-Burns on June 19.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.