Three primary races set for statehouse seats in Kane and Mchenry counties

Kane and McHenry county voters will have a few contested races for statehouse seats in the June primary.

The weeklong filing period for candidates ended Monday and brought two more contested primary races for statehouse seats.

In Senate District 35, Sen. Dave Syverson, a Crystal Lake Republican, is being challenged by Eli Nicolosi, a Rockford Republican, for the party nomination.

In House District 83, Democrats Arad Boxenbaum of Geneva and Matt Hanson of Aurora seek their party's nomination to challenge Republican Rep. Keith Wheeler of Oswego.

Connie Cain of Gilberts and Arin Thrower of West Dundee have filed petitions for the Republican primary in the 66th House District. State. Rep. Suzanne Ness of Crystal Lake will be unopposed in the Democratic primary.

All seats in the state legislature are up for election this year. Legislative districts were redrawn because of population changes recorded by the 2020 census.

In Senate District 26, Republican Sen. Dan McConchie filed, as did Democrat Maria Peterson of North Barrington. McConchie is seeking a second term.

In the 22nd Senate District, incumbent Cristina Castro of Elgin, a Democrat, has filed.

Sen. Karina Villa of West Chicago, a Democrat, filed for the 25th District, as did Republican Heather Brown of West Chicago.

In Senate District 32, Sen. Craig Wilcox, a Republican from McHenry, has filed for reelection.

Sen. Donald DeWitte, a St. Charles Republican, has filed for District 33.

In District 42, Sen. Linda Holmes of Aurora has filed for the Democratic nomination and Paul Santucci of Aurora filed for the Republican nomination.

House seats

43rd District Rep. Anna Moeller of Elgin, a Democrat, and Angela Hallock Nowak, a Republican, have filed. Nowak lives in Elgin.

In the 49th District, Rep. Martha Hirschauer of Batavia, a Democrat, and Republican Kevin Wallace of Bartlett have filed petitions.

Rep. Barbara Hernandez, a Democrat from Aurora, is seeking reelection to her 50th District seat.

Rep. Steven Reick, a Woodstock Republican, filed for House District 63, as did Democrat Brian Meyers of Crystal Lake.

In District 65, incumbent Dan Ugaste of Geneva, a Republican, is seeking reelection.

Rep. Joe Sosnowski, a Rockford Republican, seeks reelection in the 69th District. Democrat Peter Janko of Marengo also filed for the 69th District seat.

In House District 70, Rep. Jeff Keicher of Sycamore, a Republican, is running.

Rep. Stephanie Kifowit, an Oswego Democrat, filed for the 84th District, as did Republican Joe West of Oswego.

The primary is June 28. The general election is Nov. 8.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.