The few legislative showdowns brewing in Northwest suburban Cook County

With day two of the candidate petition filing period for the June primary election now complete, only one political challenger has surfaced for any of the five state senators serving Northwest suburban Cook County.

Few of the incumbent state House members in that region are facing challenges, too.

And none of these sitting lawmakers, in either chamber, have challengers from within their own parties.

All seats in the state House and state Senate are up for election this year. Legislative districts were redrawn because of population changes recorded by the 2020 census.

In the 26th Senate District, Republican Senate Leader Dan McConchie of Hawthorn Woods and Democratic challenger Maria Peterson of North Barrington both filed nominating petitions Monday.

In the 27th Senate District, Democratic incumbent Sen. Ann Gillespie of Arlington Heights is the lone candidate so far.

In the 28th Senate District, Democratic incumbent Sen. Laura Murphy of Des Plaines is the only candidate who has turned in nominating petitions.

In the 30th Senate District, Democratic incumbent Sen. Adriane Johnson of Buffalo Grove is the lone candidate so far.

And in the 39th Senate District, only Democratic incumbent Senate President Don Harmon of Oak Park has filed.

Over in the state House, these incumbents filed and don't yet have opponents: Rosemont Republican Brad Stephens in the 20th District; Hoffman Estates Democrat Fred Crespo in the 44th District; Arlington Heights Democrat Mark Walker in the 53rd District; and Buffalo Grove Democrat Daniel Didech in the 59th District.

Three incumbent state House members are facing potential general-election challenges so far.

In the 51st District, Democrats Nabeela Syed of Inverness and Chelsea Laliberte Barnes of Palatine are seeking their party's nomination in the primary. The winner likely will face incumbent state Rep. Chris Bos of Lake Zurich, the only Republican in the race so far.

In the 55th District, Democratic state Rep. Marty Moylan of Des Plaines and Republican Michael M. Lupo of Park Ridge have filed to run.

Likewise, in the 56th District, Democratic state Rep. Michelle Mussman and Republican E. Dale Litney, both of Schaumburg, have submitted petitions.

The 45th District seat is open because Republican incumbent Seth Lewis of Bartlett was drawn into the 47th. So far in the 45th, Democrat Jenn Ladisch Douglass and Republican Deanne Marie Mazzochi, both of Elmhurst, have filed for the seat.

The 54th District seat is open, too, because Republican incumbent Tom Morrison of Palatine isn't seeking reelection. Democrat Mary Beth Canty and Republican Michelle Hunter, both of Arlington Heights, have filed to run.

The deadline for petition filing is March 14.

The primary election is June 28. The general election is Nov. 8.

GOP primary battle lines emerge in DuPage County

Primaries for sheriff, several county board seats on tap in Lake County

Dozens of McHenry County candidates line up to file for 2022 election

Candidates for state office make it official

Senatorial, congressional hopefuls begin filing for June primary

Illinois Sen. Ann Gillespie of Arlington Heights
Illinois Sen. Laura Murphy of Des Plaines
Illinois Sen. Adriane Johnson of Buffalo Grove
Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.