Here are the contested statehouse primary races emerging in DuPage County

While most primary races for state House and Senate seats in DuPage County remain unchallenged so far, a few contested races are surfacing.

Many of the candidates who have filed nominating petitions are the only candidate for their party in the primary. But in southern DuPage County, open seats in two legislative districts have prompted contested races.

All seats in the state House and Senate are up for election this year. Legislative districts were redrawn because of population changes recorded by the 2020 census.

Illinois Sen. John Connor, a Lockport Democrat, is not seeking reelection in the 43rd District, leaving the seat open. Rachel Ventura, a Joliet Democrat and Will County Board member, and Eric Matteson, a Joliet firefighter, seek their party's nomination in the primary. Republican Michelle Lee of Shorewood also has filed for the open seat.

In House District 97, Michelle Smith of Plainfield and Thomas McCullagh of Shorewood are seeking a seat left open by Rep. Mark Batinick, a Plainfield Republican, who is not seeking reelection. Democrat Harry Benton of Plainfield also has filed for House District 97.

In House District 77, incumbent Rep. Kathleen Willis of Addison is being challenged in the Democrat primary by Norma Hernandez of Melrose Park.

In Senate District 21, Naperville Democrat Sen. Laura Ellman, who was elected in 2018, filed for reelection. Republican Kathleen Murray of Lombard also filed for the same seat.

In District 23, Sen. Suzanne "Suzy" Glowiak Hilton is seeking the Democrat nomination. The Westchester Democrat currently represents the 24th District but is running in the 23rd due to redistricting. Former State Sen. Tom Cullerton, who Tuesday pleaded guilty to embezzlement, represented the 23rd District. Seth Lewis, a Bartlett Republican, filed for the 24th Senate seat.

Sen. Karina Villa, a West Chicago Democrat, is seeking reelection in District 25. Sen. Don Harmon, an Oak Park Democrat who was first elected in 2003, seeks reelection in Senate District 39. State Sen. John Curran, a Downers Grove Republican, is seeking reelection in the 41st Senate District.

In the 42nd Senate District, Democrat Sen. Linda Holmes of Aurora seeks another term. No Republicans had filed as of Tuesday in these districts.

In House District 41, Democrat Rep. Janet Yang Rohr of Naperville and Republican Jennifer Bruzan Taylor of Naperville filed their paperwork for election. Rep. Terra Costa Howard, a Glen Ellyn Democrat, and Glen Ellyn Republican Stefanie Hood filed for the 42nd House District. Costa Howard currently represents Illinois House District 48, but redistricting puts her in the 42nd District.

Rep. Deanne Marie Mazzochi, an Elmhurst Republican, filed for the 45th House District. Mazzochi currently represents District 47 but is running in the 45th due to redistricting. Democrat Jenn Ladisch Douglass, an Elmhurst Democrat, also filed for the 45th District.

In House District 46, Villa Park Democrat Diane Blair-Sherlock seeks her party's nomination. Incumbent Deborah Conroy did not seek reelection to her seat and is instead running for DuPage County Board chairman. No Republicans have filed for the 46th House District seat.

Lone candidates Rep. Amy Grant, a Wheaton Republican, and Jennifer Sanalitro, a Hanover Park Republican, filed for the 47th and 48th districts, respectively.

Incumbent Rep. Maura Hirschauer, a Batavia Democrat, filed for District 49 as did Bartlett Republican Kevin Wallace.

In the 50th House District, Rep. Barbara Hernandez seeks the Democrat party nomination. She currently represents the 83rd District but is running in the 50th due to redistricting.

In House District 81, Rep. Anne Stava-Murray, a Naperville Democrat, seeks reelection. Republican Paul Leong of Naperville also filed for the GOP's nomination in the primary.

Democrats Stephanie Kifowit of Oswego and Dagmara "Dee" Avelar of Bolingbrook are the only candidates to file in House Districts 84 and 85, respectively.

The last day to file nominating petitions is March 14. The primary election is June 28 and the general election is Nov. 8.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.