Few battles, so far, in state legislative primaries in Kane, McHenry counties

Two Republicans are vying for the chance to boot Democrat state Rep. Suzanne Ness of Crystal Lake from office.

Connie Cain of Gilberts and Arin Thrower of West Dundee have filed petitions for the Republican primary in the 66th House district, as of Tuesday afternoon. Ness is unopposed, so far, in the Democratic primary.

It is the only contested primary so far in Kane and McHenry counties.

All seats in the state legislature are up for election this year. Legislative districts were redrawn because of population changes recorded by the 2020 census.

In Senate District 26, Republican Sen. Dan McConchie filed, as did Democrat Maria Peterson of North Barrington. McConchie is seeking a second term.

In the 22nd Senate District, incumbent Cristina Castro of Elgin, a Democrat, has filed.

Sen. Karina Villa of West Chicago, a Democrat, filed for the 25th District.

Nobody has filed in state Senate District 32.

Sen. Donald DeWitte, a St. Charles Republican, has filed for District 33.

Sen. Dave Syverson of Crystal Lake, a Republican, has filed for reelection in District 35.

In District 42, Sen. Linda Holmes of Aurora has filed for the Democratic nomination.

House seats

43rd District Rep. Anna Moeller of Elgin, a Democrat, and Angela Hallock Nowak, a Republican, have filed. Nowak lives in Elgin.

In the 49th District, Rep. Martha Hirschauer of Batavia, a Democrat, and Republican Kevin Wallace of Bartlett have filed petitions.

Rep. Barbara Hernandez of Aurora is unopposed, so far, in her bid for the 50th District seat.

Rep. Steven Reick, a Woodstock Republican, filed for House District 63.

In District 65, incumbent Dan Ugaste of Geneva, a Republican, is seeking reelection.

Nobody has filed in House District 69.

In House District 70, Rep. Jeff Keicher of Sycamore, a Republican, is running.

Rep. Keith Wheeler, a Republican from Oswego, is running for District 83, as is Matt Hanson, a Democrat from Aurora.

In the 84th District, state Rep. Stephanie Kifowit of Oswego, a Democrat, has filed.

Candidates have until March 14 to file petitions. The primary is June 28. The general election is Nov. 8.

State Rep. Suzanne Ness
State Sen. Cristina Castro
State Sen. Don DeWitte
State Rep. Anna Moeller
State Rep. Jeff Keicher
State Sen. Karina Villa
State Rep. Daniel Ugaste
State Rep. Keith Wheeler
State Rep. Stephanie Kifowit
State Rep. Maura Hirschauer
Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.