Neville retains First District seat on the state's high court

Illinois Supreme Court Justice P. Scott Neville Jr., a 2018 appointee, has won his bid to retain his seat on the state's high court, according to unofficial vote totals.

With 95% of suburban precincts reporting and 82% Chicago precincts reporting, Neville received 126,230 votes.

The court's only minority member, Neville - an African American - will serve a 10-year term as a representative from the First District.

Jesse G. Reyes received 110,853 and Sheldon Harris received 84,857 votes. Margaret Stanton McBride tallied 68,810 votes, followed by Cynthia Cobbs with 67,404, Daniel Epstein with 41,645 and Nathaniel R. Howse with 24,832.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.