U-46 to award 40 scholarships Wednesday to first-generation collegegoers

Updated 4/22/2019 1:42 PM

Elgin Area School District U-46 will award scholarships Wednesday to 40 high school seniors who will be the first in their families to attend college.

The eighth annual Superintendent's Scholarship reception and awards ceremony begins at 6 p.m. at Streamwood High School, 701 W. Schaumburg Road. Student recipients, their families, school principals and scholarship donors will attend.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

This year marks the highest number of scholarships awarded since the Superintendent's Scholarship fund was established in 2012 through the U-46 Educational Foundation. To date, more than 220 U-46 graduates have received a $1,000 scholarship each.

Recipients were selected by a panel of judges from more than 300 applicants from the district's five comprehensive high schools -- Bartlett, Elgin, Larkin, South Elgin and Streamwood.

"They've outwitted and overcome challenges and adversity in their lives such as poverty, language barriers, stereotypes, and trauma," U-46 CEO Tony Sanders said. "I am extremely proud of these students and grateful to all those who donated to the Superintendent's Scholarship program."

Students' applications included high school transcripts, copies of Federal Student Aid applications, letters of recommendation from an adult and personal essays.


Recipients also have participated in a networking workshop led by former U-46 school board member Traci O'Neal Ellis emphasizing the skills needed to make a good first impression and demonstrate self-confidence. Each awardee also received a customized box of business cards.

During Wednesday's reception, students will be honored for their accomplishments and urged to visit with donors and administrators. Scholarship recipients are:

•Bartlett High -- Ashley Diaz, Kendra Payne, Dana Siciliano, Kelsey Sniatynsky, Victoria Rzucidlo.

•Elgin High -- Ezequiel Bedolla, Giovanni Cisneros, Gabriela Cuautle, Lauren Dimayuga, Khalil Jennette, Italo Rojas, Inga Suceska.

•Larkin High -- Elisa Arce, Fernando Guzman Jr., Jordan Kosin, Erika Lara-Tellez, Taylor Long, Melanie Lopez, Jair Nunez, Omar Ramirez, Maritza Renteria, Margarita Sanchez, Leslie Solano, Mareena Sower, Carlos Toledo Jr.

•South Elgin High -- Christian Gordon, Makayla Hall-Lee, Alex Herrera, Maritza Pitones, Vraj Thakkar.

•Streamwood High -- Karina Adan, Diego Castillo, Edgar Gasca, Christian Gonzalez, Kiara Kerkooffs, Haydee Perez, Nicole Rataj, Jennifer Robillard, Jennifer Teran, Jocelyn Vences.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.