A summary of bar association recommendations in judicial races

Updated 11/2/2020 9:49 AM

The Daily Herald does not issue endorsements in most judicial races. Here is a summary of recommendations regarding judges from regional bar associations.

Associations cited are the Illinois State Bar Association (ISBA), www.isba.org/judicialevaluations, the Chicago Bar Association (CBA), www.chicagobar.org and the Suburban Bar Coalition made up of the Northwest Suburban, https://www.nwsba.org/?, North Suburban, https://ilnsba.org/, South Suburban, https://ssba.wildapricot.org/, Southwest, https://southwestbar.org/, West Suburban, http://westsuburbanbar.org/, and Lake County (LCBA) bar associations.


For recommendations of the Alliance of Bar Associations, visit: http://www.voteforjudges.org/ online.

State Supreme Court, Dist. 1

Highly qualified: P. Scott Neville Jr. and Michael B. Hyman highly qualified. (ISBA)

Qualified: P. Scott Neville (CBA)

Illinois Appellate Court, Dist. 1

Highly Qualified: Michael B. Hyman (CBA)

Qualified: Sharon O. Johnson (ISBA, CBA)

Countywide Judicial Candidates

All qualified by all agencies except:

Highly qualified: Chris Stacey; Lynn Weaver Boyle (CBA); Christopher Morozin (LCBA)

Not qualified: Maura McMahon Zeller (ISBA)

Not recommended: Tiesha L. Smith (ISBA, CBA); Marine Slavin (LCBA)

Cook County Circuit Court

All agencies recommend or highly recommend retention for all Cook County circuit court candidates except:

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

ISBA: Mauricio Araujo*, Jackie Marie Portman-Brown, Diana Rosario and John J. Mahoney

CBA: Mauricio Araujo*, Patricia Manila Martin

SBC: John J. Mahoney and Jackie M. Portman-Brown. Mauricio Araujo* and Patricia Manila Martin

* Mauricio Araujo resigned effective Oct. 5.

12th Subcircuit

Qualified: Patricia M. Fallon, Democrat, Frank R. DiFranco, Republican (ISBA, CBA)

13th Subcircuit

Qualified: Susanne Michelle Groebner, Democrat, Gary William Seyring, Republican (ISBA, CBA)

Appellate Court Retention

Yes: Aurelia Maria Pucinski, Mary Katherine Rochford (ISBA, CBA, SBC), Ann B. Jorgensen, Mary S. Schostock (LCBA)

19th Judicial Circuit Retention

Valerie Boettle Ceckowski, James K. Booras (LCBA)

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.