A summary of Daily Herald election endorsements

  • Polling places will be open for the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

    Polling places will be open for the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 6. Daily Herald File Photo

The Daily Herald Editorial Board
Updated 11/8/2018 4:01 PM

Tuesday is Election Day for state, congressional and county offices and for numerous ballot issues. Here is a summary of Daily Herald endorsements for contested seats and referendums of local interest. Read our full endorsements here.

For printable bar association recommendations on judicial candidates, go online to the Illinois State Bar Association at isba.org/judicialevaluations and the Chicago Bar Association at chicagobar.org/chicagobar/votejudges.



District 5: Mike Quigley

District 6: Peter Roskam

District 8: Raja Krishnamoorthi

District 9: No endorsement

District 10: Brad Schneider

District 11: Bill Foster

District 14: Lauren Underwood

State Offices

Governor: JB Pritzker

Attorney General: Kwame Raoul

Secretary of State: Jason Helland

Treasurer: Michael Frerichs

Comptroller: Susana Mendoza

General Assembly

House of Representatives

District 41: Grant Wehrli

District 42: Amy Grant

District 43: Anna Moeller

District 44: Fred Crespo

District 45: Diane Pappas

District 46: Deb Conroy

District 47: Deanne Mazzochi

District 48: Terra Costa Howard

District 49: Tonia Khouri

District 50: Keith Wheeler

District 51: Mary Edly-Allen

District 53: Mark Walker

District 54: Tom Morrison

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

District 55: Marty Moylan

District 56: Jillian Bernas

District 59: Daniel Didech

District 58: Rick Lesser

District 61: Shari Jesiel

District 62: Sam Yingling

District 64: Tom Weber

District 65: Dan Ugaste

District 77: Kathleen Willis

District 81: David Olsen

District 84: Stephanie Kifowit


District 21: Michael Connelly

District 23: Seth Lewis

District 24: Chris Nybo

District 26: Dan McConchie

District 27: Tom Rooney

District 29: Julie Morrison

District 30: Soojae Lee

District 32: Craig Wilcox

District 33: Don DeWitte

District 41: John Curran

Cook County

Assessor: Fritz Kaegi

Board Dist. 9: Peter Silvestri

Board Dist. 14: Gregg Goslin

Board Dist. 15: Tim Schneider


Board Dist.17: Sean Morrison


Harper College expansion: Yes

Hanover Township youth services: Yes

Barrington sales tax: Yes

Prospect Heights home rule: Yes

Maine Township High School Dist. 207 improvements: Yes

Elk Grove Rural Fire Protection District reduction: Yes

Wheeling Township Elementary School Dist. 21 repairs, improvements: Yes

South Barrington Park District sale of property: Yes

Hanover Park tax increase: No

DuPage County

Chairman: Dan Cronin

Sheriff: James Mendrick

Clerk: Jean Kaczmarek

Board Dist. 1: Sam Tornatore, Dino Gavanes

Board Dist. 2: Elizabeth Chaplin, Pete DiCianni

Board Dist. 3: Greg Hart, Martin Tully

Board Dist. 4: Grant Eckhoff, Christopher Zaruba

Board Dist. 5: Janice Anderson, Sadia Covert

Board Dist. 6: Jim Zay, Kevin Wiley

Forest Preserve President: Joseph Cantore

Forest Preserve Dist. 3: Linda Painter


Wheaton Warrenville Unit District 200 replace childhood center: Yes

Glen Ellyn Elementary Dist. 89 maintaining programs: Yes

Oak Brook purchase land for parks: Yes

York Center fire improvements: Yes

Itasca fire improvements: Yes

Glen Ellyn Mosquito Abatement tax increase: No

Elmhurst Unit School Dist. 205 repairs and upgrades: Yes

Kane County

Sheriff: Donald Kramer

Clerk: Jack Cunningham

Treasurer: David Rickert

Board Dist. 11: John Martin

Board Dist. 21: Clifford Surges

Board Dist. 23: Jim Patrician

Board Dist. 19: Kurt Kojzarek

Board Dist. 13: Lark Cowart

Board Dist. 3: Olynda De Hoyos

Board Dist. 15: Barbara Wojnicki


Batavia end home rule: No

Batavia Public library repairs: Yes

Blackberry Township road repairs: Yes

Fox River/Countryside Fire repairs, upgrades: Yes

Hampshire fire improvements: Yes

Pingree Grove/Countryside fire improvements: Yes

Lake County

Sheriff: Mark Curran Jr.Clerk: Carla Wyckoff

Treasurer: David Stolman

Board Dist. 3: Dick Barr Board Dist. 5: Judy Martini

Board Dist. 6: Jeff Werfel

Board Dist. 10: Jessica Vealitzek

Board Dist. 15: Carol Calabresa

Board Dist. 17: Michael Danforth

Board Dist. 18: Karimar Brown

Board Dist. 19: Craig Taylor

Board Dist. 20: Sidney Mathias

Board Dist. 21: Ann Maine


Green Oaks roads levy: Yes

Round Lake Heights water improvements: Yes

Vernon Township road consolidation: Yes

Greater Round Lake Fire Protection District equipment purchase and upgrades: Yes

Hawthorn School Dist. 73 expand and repair schools: Yes

Hawthorn School Dist. 73, operations: Yes

Gavin School Dist. 37 life-safety improvements: Yes

Will County

Sheriff: Mike Kelley

Treasurer: Steve Weber

Clerk: Laurie McPhillips

Board Dist. 11: Julie Berkowicz, Michelle Cowan

Go to comments: 0 posted
Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.