Summer 2021 Undergraduate Research Support Program Awards announced

Updated 4/16/2021 9:08 AM

The Office of Undergraduate Research at Illinois State University announced the winners of the Summer 2021 Undergraduate Research Support Program Awards. The program provides up to $5,000 to support undergraduate student(s) engaged in an intensive, faculty-mentored research experience over the summer. Winners include:

Cameron Essex of Hoffman Estates, Illinois; Geology, "Understanding Magma Formation at Þingmúli volcano, Iceland," mentored by Dr. Tenley Banik.


Ian Freeman of Plainfield, Illinois; Physics, "Simulated Multifragmentation of Nuclear Collisions" mentored by Dr. Matt Caplan.

Joseph Hoberg of Elgin, Illinois; Geology, "Utilizing a TRAC and a tracer test to better quantify the dynamic movement of shallow groundwater," mentored by Dr. Eric Peterson. Jointly sponsored by Illinois State University's Center for a Sustainable Water Future.

Amelia Korveziroska, Physics, and Marco Perez of Deerfield, Illinois; Physics, "Silicon Nitride and Silicon Dioxide Materials Deposition in Nanopatterned Polymeric Films," mentored by Dr. Mahua Biswas.

Evan Talbott-Swain of Clarendon Hills, Illinois; Biology, "The effect of food limitation on family size in the strawberry poison frog," mentored by Dr. Matthew Dugas.

Find out more here:


Get articles sent to your inbox.