Asian American Coalition of Chicago celebrated Impressive 36th Lunar New Year in Rosemont

  • Syed Ullah

    Syed Ullah

Updated 3/1/2019 10:26 AM

The Chinese New Year, also called and commonly known as the Lunar New Year. It isn't just celebrated in China and around other countries celebrating all over the world, including mostly cities in United States. Chicago is always celebrated with traditional passion and zeal. Several Tremendous celebrations were seen in Chicagoland area. The most prominent of all celebrations was the Asian American Coalition of Chicago, this year 36th Annual Lunar Year Celebration Gala Hosted by the Filipino American Community of Chicago, with a theme "One World. One Vision" The Celebration was held on Saturday February 23, 2019, 5 PM -- 10 PM, in Grand Ballroom, at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, 9300 Bryn Mawr, Rosemont, IL 60018. This year was called the Year of the Pig and was emceed by Ravi Baichwal, Billy Dec, Eric Horng, Cate Cauguiran and Maec Rita.

The celebration Gala includes Reception, Exhibit Booths, and Open Mic. Political Forum, Dinner Banquet, Keynote Address, Awards, and entertainment. Illinois legislative officers, Asian countries Diplomatic corps, business leaders. Every year a different Asian community takes turn playing host of Lunar New Year. This year it is the Chicago Filipino Communities. Nine communities (Chinese, Filipino, Indian, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Pakistani, Thai and Vietnamese American) take turns hosting the Asian Lunar New Year Celebration on a rotating basis. This year nearly 900 people gathered at the Hyatt Regency. Aurora Abella-Austriaco was served as the year's chairman. Ms. Danielle Austriaco performed the American National Anthem. A moment of silence was held for Fallen Heroes for the Country.


US Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky was the Keynote Speaker US Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi, Secretary of State Jesse White were amongst many Federal, State and local government officials also address in event. The Asian American Elected Officials and candidates running for office in the upcoming Election were also highlighted.

Every year AACC recognizes two outstanding awardees, one of Asian descent and one of non-Asian descent Miss. Tina Tchen Assistant of President Barack Obama & Chief of Staff to First Lady Michelle Obama received Ping Tom Memorial Award. ABC 7 received Sandra Otaka Memorial award. ABC7 Chicago, over the years has been a strong supporter and advocate for the Asian American community.

Recipients of Exemplary Community Service Awards were Soo Lon Moy, Dr. Nida Blankas Hernaez, Balwinder Singh Girn, Felicia Kristanto, Tatsu Aoki, Keun Moo Lee, Belinda Ng, Sadaf Javaid, Sudcharit Benjakul and Duc Dang.

Recipients of the Youth Who Excels Awards were Darek Lau, Jade Mosquera, Julian Lalvani, Yoga Mahartayasa, Kelsoe Matsunaga, Monica Yoo, Matthew Lee, Vanisa Oupokin and Baotam Alan Tran.

The event was covered by many of the mainstream and ethnic media, including many Chicagoland television networks.